49. DIPLOMACY
49.1 DIPLOMATIC POINTS (DPs)
49.2 ALLOCATION OF DPs
49.3 RESTRICTIONS ON DP ALLOCATIONS
49.4 ACTIVATION OF DPs
49.5 DIPLOMATIC RESULTS
49.6 REACTION DIE ROLLS
49.7 AUTOMATIC DIPLOMATIC DIE ROLLS
49.8 TENSION LEVELS
49.9 SPECIFIC DIPLOMATIC TABLES

49.1 DIPLOMATIC POINTS (DPs):
49.11 DIPLOMATIC POINTS (DPs): During the opening setup of each scenario, including the campaign game and 1939 scenario, and during each subsequent YSS, each major power receives an allotment of DPs, which may be allocated to eligible targets and intelligence projects, subject to the restrictions set out below.
49.12 BASIC ALLOTMENTS: The basic allotments are: Germany, Britain, Russia: 3 each; Italy and France: 2 each; U.S.: 1 for every 10 USAT levels (round down), to a maximum of 5. Japan and China do not receive DPs.
49.13 ALLOTMENTS DURING OPENING SETUP: No additional DPs are received for BRP levels (49.14) and control of territory (49.15) during the opening setup of the campaign game. The basic allotment of DPs during the opening setup of scenarios other than the campaign game may be supplemented by DPs received for BRP levels and control of territory.
49.14 ADDITIONAL DPs FOR BRPs: During each YSS, each of Germany, Italy, France, Britain, the U.S. and Russia is also allotted one additional DP for every 100 BRPs (round down) in its YSS BRP total. Additional DPs for BRPs are not allotted during the opening setup of the Global War campaign game and the European theater campaign game scenarios.
49.141 AMERICAN DPs IN A EUROPEAN SCENARIO: In a European scenario, the U.S. receives one additional DP in the 1942 YSS, two additional DPs in the 1943 YSS, three additional DPs in the 1944 YSS, four additional DPs in the 1945 YSS, and five additional DPs in the 1946 YSS, to reflect the Pacific BRPs not represented in the game.
49.15 ADDITIONAL DPs FROM OTHER SOURCES:
49.151 OTHER SOURCES: The DPs available to each major power are also increased or decreased according to the control of various territories and by various military and political developments, as set out in the first page of the diplomatic tables.
49.152 HEX CONTROL DETERMINES DP ALLOTMENT: The major power which controls the hex(es) at the end of a year receives the DPs for contested areas, even if opposing major power(s) receive the BRPs for the areas (35.64). BRPs and supply are irrelevant when determining DP allotments.
49.153 LOSS OF CONTROL IRRELEVANT AFTER YSS: Once a major power receives its YSS allotment of DPs for control of an area, the subsequent loss of that area has no effect on those DPs, although it will affect the DP allotment for the following YSS.
49.154 LOSS OF RUSSIAN DPs FOR UNDEFENDED OBJECTIVES AND ICs: Russia loses one DP for each undefended Russian objective or IC occupied by the Axis during an Axis movement phase:
A. An objective or IC is considered to be “undefended” if it did not contain any Russian or Russian minor ally ground units at the start of the Axis player turn in which it is occupied.
B. Objectives and ICs which are isolated or were adjacent to Axis-controlled hexes at the start of the Russian player turn immediately preceding their occupation are exempt.
C. The penalty only applies to objectives inside Russia. Russian-controlled objectives outside Russia, such as Riga and Lvov, do not count.
D. The penalty is not cumulative: undefended objective hexes which also contain an IC, such as Kharkov, would cost Russia only one DP if occupied by Axis forces.
E. The Axis capture of Russian objectives and ICs as a result of regular combat, airdrops or exploitation does not trigger the penalty.
F. The penalty applies during the current year, when calculating the Russian DP level for Russian resistance purposes, and in the ensuing year, both in the YSS and when calculating the Russian DP level for Russian resistance purposes.
49.16 MINIMUM ALLOTMENT OF DPs IS ZERO: A major power cannot begin a year with a negative number of DPs. In such a case, there is no penalty to its allies and no DP deficit is carried forward to the next year. The major power simply cannot allocate any DPs during that year.
49.17 EFFECTS OF SURRENDER: Britain receives DPs after it has surrendered to Germany. The U.S. receives DPs after it has sued for peace. Other countries do not receive DPs after they have surrendered.

49.2 ALLOCATION OF DPs:
49.21 ALLOCATION OF DPs SECRET DURING YSS: After determining the total number of DPs available, each player secretly records his DP allocations, revealing them during the ensuing year (EXCEPTION: DPs allocated to minor countries containing enemy spy rings are announced during the YSS - 46.411A).
49.22 TIMING OF ALLOCATIONS DURING OPENING SETUP: During the opening setup of the campaign game and 1939 scenario, DPs are allocated after all units are deployed.
49.23 TIMING OF ALLOCATIONS DURING YSS: During the YSS, DPs are allocated immediately after BRP calculations are completed.
49.24 GENERAL RULE REGARDING ALLOCATIONS: Subject to the restrictions set out below, DPs may be allocated to the various targets listed in the diplomatic tables, USAT and intelligence research projects.
49.25 MAJOR POWER MAY ALLOCATE DPs TO ITSELF: A major power may allocate DPs to itself.
49.26 NEUTRAL ITALIAN DPs: Italy is considered Axis even while it is neutral.

49.3 RESTRICTIONS ON DP ALLOCATIONS:
49.31 ONE-THIRD LIMIT: Each alliance faction (the European Axis, the Western Allies and Russia) may place no more than one-third (round up) of its DPs in a single diplomatic target, including intelligence research as a whole. In addition, the placement of DPs in USAT is limited by the rate at which they may be triggered (49.34, 49.82C). German and Italian DPs are combined in a single total to determine the diplomatic allocation limit for the European Axis; British, French and American DPs are combined in a single total to determine the diplomatic allocation limit for the Western Allies. The diplomatic allocation limits for Russia are determined separately.
49.32 RUSSIAN DP ALLOCATIONS: Russia may allocate DPs only to Bulgaria, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Rumania, Sweden, Turkey, the Ukraine and Yugoslavia.
49.33 RGT: DPs may not be placed in RGT.
49.34 USAT: DPs may only be placed in USAT in 1939, 1940 and 1941. The European Axis and the Western Allies may each trigger one DP to modify USAT during the diplomatic phase of each turn during the year the DP is placed (49.82).
49.35 USJT: DPs may not be placed in USJT.
49.36 MINOR COUNTRIES:
A. BELGIUM AND LUXEMBOURG: Belgium and Luxembourg are considered to be one country for diplomatic purposes.
B. VICHY FRANCE: DPs may not be placed in Vichy France during a YSS in which France is still unconquered.

49.4 ACTIVATION OF DPs:
49.41 THE DIPLOMATIC PHASE: At the start of each player turn, the moving player may undertake each of the following diplomatic activities:
49.411 EUROPEAN AXIS:
A. The European Axis may select one target for a diplomatic die roll (EXCEPTION: The European Axis may also make die rolls for Bulgaria, Finland, Hungary, Rumania and Yugoslavia and may even name all five in the same turn, but may only name each once per year).
B. The European Axis may also make a reaction die roll for Norway, Spain and/or Vichy France if otherwise permitted to do so (49.6).
C. The European Axis may trigger DPs to reduce USAT.
49.412 WESTERN ALLIES:
A. The Western Allies may select one target for a diplomatic die roll.
B. The Western Allies may also make a reaction die roll for Norway if otherwise permitted to do so (49.6).
C. The Western Allies may trigger DPs to increase USAT.
49.413 RUSSIA:
A. Russia may select one target for a diplomatic die roll.
49.42 DIPLOMATIC DIE ROLLS:
49.421 NO BRP COST: Diplomatic die rolls are made at no BRP cost.
49.422 ALL TARGETS ANNOUNCED BEFORE DPs REVEALED: Each alliance faction making a diplomatic die roll selects and announces its target(s) before any major powers reveal their placement of DPs in any of the selected targets and before any diplomatic die rolls are actually made.
49.423 TARGETS MUST HAVE FRIENDLY DPs IN THEM: An alliance faction may only select a target for a diplomatic die roll if it placed DPs in the target in the preceding YSS (EXCEPTIONS: The Axis may make diplomatic die rolls for Bulgaria, Finland, Hungary, Rumania and Yugoslavia even if no Axis DPs were allocated to them - 49.411A; reaction die rolls - 49.6).
49.424 RUSSIAN RESISTANCE LEVEL IRRELEVANT: Russia may make diplomatic die rolls regardless of its resistance level.
49.425 MECHANICS: Once all targets are named by the moving players, all DPs placed in the targets in the preceding YSS are revealed. Russia then announces if it is applying a subversion modifier to the target, after which any covert operations are announced (47.31). One die is then rolled by the player who named the target.
49.426 MODIFIERS:
49.4261 DPs: Each diplomatic die roll is increased by the total number of Axis DPs in the target, and decreased by the total number of Allied DPs in the target:
A. AXIS DPs: German and Italian DPs are combined even if Italy is still neutral.
B. WESTERN ALLIED AND RUSSIAN DPs:
49.4262 SPY RINGS AND COVERT OPERATIONS: Each spy ring (46.411B) and covert operation (47.21A) modifies the diplomatic die roll by +/-1, as the case may be.
49.4263 COMMUNIST SUBVERSION: Russia may use subversion to modify a diplomatic die roll by up to -5, depending on the level of subversion research it has achieved (44.24).
49.4264 UNBUILT UNITS: Minor country units which have been permanently eliminated because that minor country switched sides (85.53A) are not counted when applying the diplomatic modifier for unbuilt units ("+/-1 For each unbuilt minor country air, armor or infantry unit"). Each unbuilt minor country air factor counts as one unbuilt unit.
49.4265 OTHER MODIFIERS: The modifiers set out in the applicable diplomatic table are applied to determine the diplomatic result.
49.4266 SEQUENCE: All diplomatic die rolls during the same diplomatic phase, including reaction die rolls, are considered to be simultaneous and therefore such diplomatic die rolls are not affected by diplomatic results which occur during the diplomatic phase in which they are made.
49.43 RESTRICTIONS ON DIPLOMATIC DIE ROLLS:
49.431 TARGETS MAY ONLY BE NAMED ONCE EACH YEAR: A target may only be named for a diplomatic die roll once each year, with the following exceptions. DPs placed in a target remain for the entire year and apply to all diplomatic die rolls for that target in that year:
A. REACTION DIE ROLLS: Reaction die rolls may occur every turn (49.6). A normal diplomatic die roll for the same target can be made in the same year in which a reaction die roll occurs.
B. FINLAND AND THE BALKANS: If the Western Allies or Russia name Bulgaria, Finland, Hungary, Rumania or Yugoslavia before Russia is at war with Germany, the European Axis may name that country later in the same year.
C. VICHY FRANCE: Vichy France may not be named for a diplomatic die roll in the year in which France surrenders.
49.432 MINOR ALLIES: A player may not select a friendly minor ally as a diplomatic target, as no greater result may be obtained and this unfairly prevents the opponent from naming that minor ally until the following year (49.431). This restriction also prevents the Western Allies and Russia from naming one another's minor allies.
49.433 WESTERN ALLIED AND RUSSIAN RESULTS: The Western Allies may not select a minor country as a diplomatic target if it is allied to or associated with Russia or if a diplomatic result of "-1" or "0" favoring Russia is in effect for that minor country. Similarly, Russia may not select a minor country as a diplomatic target if it is allied to or associated with the Western Allies or if a diplomatic result of "-1" or "0" favoring the Western Allies is in effect for that minor country. Pro-Allied modifiers for hex control (-1), association (-2) and alliance (-3) apply if the Axis name the minor country as a diplomatic target.
49.434 FINLAND, SWEDEN AND YUGOSLAVIA: Finland, Sweden and Yugoslavia may not be named by Russia for a diplomatic die roll until Russia is at war with Germany or the RGT level is 50 or more, although Russia may place DPs in Finland, Sweden and Yugoslavia before these conditions are met. This prohibition does not apply to the Western Allies.
49.435 EFFECTS OF AGGRESSION: If a major power declares war on a neutral minor country, thereby causing that minor country to associate with a member of an opposing alliance faction, the aggressor major power may not again select that minor country as a target for a diplomatic die roll. Once the capital of a minor country comes under the control of enemy forces, that minor country is conquered and any diplomatic result for that minor country no longer applies. Conquered minor countries may not be named as diplomatic targets.
49.44 FINLAND AND RUMANIA: Russia may not name Finland or Rumania for a diplomatic die roll until Russia is at war with Germany or the RGT level is 50 or more. Russia may, however, make territorial demands of Finland or Rumania, regardless of the RGT level (49.71, 66.1, 67.1). Such a demand may be made even if the Axis have named Finland or Rumania as a diplomatic target earlier in the same year, and the Axis may subsequently name Finland or Rumania as a diplomatic target later in a year in which Russia made a territorial demand against the target country.
49.441 When making the diplomatic die roll triggered by Russia’s territorial demands on Rumania, both the +2 modifier for making such a demand and the negative modifier for Russian forces adjacent to Rumania apply.
49.45 UNUSED DPs ARE LOST: DPs may not be accumulated from year to year, either by the major power generating them or in a recipient, so there is no point in leaving DPs uncommitted. At the end of each year, all DPs are eliminated, even in recipients which were not selected for a diplomatic die roll (EXCEPTION: DPs used as RPs in intelligence projects - 41.76).
49.46 CONQUEST AND SURRENDER HAS NO EFFECT: If a major power is conquered or surrenders, its DPs remain in play for the remainder of the year.

49.5 DIPLOMATIC RESULTS:
49.51 RESULTS: Once all diplomatic die rolls are made for the targets announced for a particular diplomatic phase, the diplomatic results are implemented as set out in the applicable diplomatic table.
A. When a minor country is economically penetrated by (82.2) or grants hex control to the European Axis, associates with the European Axis, or activates as a European Axis minor ally, Germany benefits.
B. When a minor country is economically penetrated by (82.2) or grants hex control to the Western Allies, associates with the Western Allies, or activates as a Western Allied minor ally, the senior alliance partner benefits unless a junior alliance partner is already benefiting from a diplomatic result for that minor country (EXCEPTION: Britain always benefits from a Western Allied diplomatic result for Vichy France - 77.95).

The senior alliance partner for the Western Allies is the U.S. once it is at war with Germany. All Western Allied diplomatic results therefore benefit the U.S. (except for Vichy French results) unless Britain (or, in rare cases, France) has already achieved a diplomatic result for that minor country.

C. When Western Allied and Russian DPs are combined in a minor country and a pro-Allied result occurs, the alliance faction which placed the greater number of DPs in the target receives the benefit. Ties are resolved by agreement or a die roll.
49.52 PERMANENT RESULTS: A "*" beside a diplomatic result means the result is permanent and the target may not again be selected for a diplomatic die roll.
49.53 LESSER RESULTS: An alliance faction which achieves a favorable diplomatic result (i.e., a result on its side of a “3-4” “continues current policies” result) may choose to implement any lesser result, either to avoid a “*” result or to achieve a particular lower-ranked but, in the circumstances, more desired result. This rule may be invoked by whichever player achieved the favorable diplomatic result, regardless of which side selected the diplomatic target and made the diplomatic die roll. The selection of a lesser result must be made at the time the diplomatic roll is made, before any subsequent rolls. A lesser result may not be selected for an allied or associated minor country that causes it to lose its allied or associated status.
EXAMPLE: Germany obtains a diplomatic result of "9" for Hungary (association). Germany makes another diplomatic die roll for Hungary in a subsequent year and obtains only a "7" result (BRPs). Germany may select a "3-4" or "5-6" result (continues current policies) to maintain its position in Hungary.

Rule 49.53 may not be used by one player to inflict a nominally favorable result on an unwilling opponent. Otherwise both sides would impose "favorable" results on the opponent, and the game would be drawn by repetition!

49.54 HEX CONTROL: When a diplomatic die roll for a minor country results in hex control, the alliance faction which gained control of the minor country's hexes is deemed to have controlled those hexes from the start of its player turn. When a diplomatic result of "8" or "-1" permits units to enter a neutral minor country, no more than ten foreign naval/ground/air factors may be in that minor country at the end of any movement, combat or redeployment phase (EXCEPTION: The limit for Axis units in Finland is five factors - 86.23). Units which trace supply through such a minor country count towards this limit (82.32).
49.55 MINOR COUNTRY ACTIVATION OR ASSOCIATION: When a diplomatic die roll for a minor country results in activation or association, the successful alliance faction is deemed to have controlled the minor country’s hexes from the start of its player turn. After a minor country activates as a minor ally or becomes an associated minor country, future diplomatic die rolls for that minor country are made using the same table.
49.56 MINOR COUNTRY UNIT PLACEMENT: When a diplomatic die roll results in a minor country becoming associated with or allied to a major power, the minor country's units are placed on the mapboard by the controlling major power immediately after the diplomatic die roll is made unless they are already on the mapboard.
49.57 PASSAGE THROUGH MINOR COUNTRIES: Whenever a major power is diplomatically permitted to place a certain number of factors of units in a given minor country, that is the maximum number of factors which may be present at the end of the movement, combat or redeployment phase. Factors in excess of the specified amount may move through the country during any given phase, but may not remain in the minor country at the end of that phase.
49.58 IF MINOR COUNTRY ASSOCIATED, ALLIED OR AT WAR: Germany may accept a diplomatic result which gives it control over the hexes of a minor country which is associated to, allied with or at war with Russia, even though Germany is not at war with Russia, but only if Germany declares war on Russia during that player turn. Similarly, Russia may retain a diplomatic result giving control of a minor country's hexes in such a situation only by declaring war on Germany.
EXAMPLES: Russia is at war with Rumania. Germany makes a diplomatic die roll for Rumania and achieves a "10+" result. Germany must declare war on Russia immediately after activating Rumania as a minor ally. If Germany is unwilling or unable to declare war on Russia, it must select a lesser diplomatic result for Rumania.
Germany declares war on Turkey but fails to conquer it. A neutral Russia makes a diplomatic die roll for Turkey and achieves a "-3" result. Russia may activate Turkey if it declares war on Germany. If Russia is unwilling or unable to declare war on Germany, it must select a lesser diplomatic result for Turkey.

49.59 DIPLOMATIC RESULTS IN THE OPPONENT'S DIPLOMATIC PHASE: If a player makes a diplomatic die roll which yields a favorable result for the opposing side, any hex control and tension effects occur immediately, although BRPs from such results are added to the major power beneficiary's total at the start of its next player turn.

49.6 REACTION DIE ROLLS:
49.61 REACTION DIE ROLLS: Certain player actions permit the opposing player to make a reaction die roll for certain targets in either the diplomatic phase in which the action is taken (Russian subversion during the Axis diplomatic phase) or during the reacting player's next diplomatic phase (Russian subversion during the Allied diplomatic phase, Allied mining of Norwegian waters, declarations of war, attacks on French colonies). Reaction die rolls may not be deferred. Reaction die rolls do not permit two diplomatic die rolls for the same target in the same diplomatic phase. Reaction die rolls may be made:
A. In addition to any normal diplomatic die rolls for other targets;
B. Even if a previous normal or reaction die roll for that target has already been made during the current year;
C. Whether or not the alliance faction in question placed DPs in the target during the preceding YSS.
49.62 ELIGIBLE TARGETS: Reaction die rolls may be made for the following diplomatic targets:
A. Norway (European Axis and Western Allies).
B. Spain (European Axis only).
C. Vichy France (European Axis only).
D. Hungary, Rumania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia and Greece (European Axis only).
49.63 TRIGGERING A REACTION DIE ROLL: A reaction die roll may be made for an eligible target as set out below:
49.631 NORWAY:
A. EUROPEAN AXIS: The European Axis may make a reaction die roll for Norway during the Axis diplomatic phase following the triggering of one or more of the following modifiers:
+1 If the Allies mine Norwegian waters without a Norwegian diplomatic result of "0" or less being in effect.
+2 If Russia declares war on Finland.
+2 If Russia declares war on Sweden.
B. WESTERN ALLIES: The Western Allies may make a reaction die roll for Norway during the Allied diplomatic phase following the triggering of one or more of the following modifiers:
-2 If the Axis declare war on Sweden.
-1 If the Axis declare war on Denmark.
49.632 SPAIN: The Axis may make a reaction die roll for Spain during the Axis diplomatic phase following a Western Allied declaration of war on Portugal. Spain automatically associates with Germany if the Western Allies declare war on Portugal when Spain is neutral, but the diplomatic modifiers resulting from Spanish association do not apply to the reaction die roll. If the Axis reaction die roll results in a "10+" diplomatic result for Spain, Spain becomes a German minor ally, rather than associating with Germany.
+1 If the Western Allies declare war on Portugal.
49.633 VICHY FRANCE: The Axis may make a reaction die roll for Vichy France during the Axis diplomatic phase following an Allied declaration of war on Vichy France or the triggering of the following modifier:
+2 For each French colony attacked by the Allies in the previous turn.
49.634 RUSSIAN SUBVERSION: The Axis may make a reaction die roll for one or more of Hungary, Rumania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia and Greece during any Axis diplomatic phase in which Russian subversion is used to modify an Axis diplomatic die roll, or during the Axis diplomatic phase following Russia's use of subversion to modify one of its own diplomatic die rolls.
A. SUBVERSION DURING THE AXIS DIPLOMATIC PHASE: If Russian subversion is used during the Axis diplomatic phase, the following modifier
+2 For each use of Russian subversion to modify a diplomatic die roll, other than for the target of the subversion in the diplomatic phase it is used.
will apply to any of Hungary, Rumania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia and Greece. This modifier applies both to minor countries which were selected by the Axis player as a diplomatic target in the Axis diplomatic phase prior to the use of Russian subversion and to minor countries which were selected for a reaction die roll after the use of Russian subversion was announced by the Russian player; this modifier does not apply to the target of the subversion itself. The diplomatic die roll for the subverted minor country is made first.
B. SUBVERSION DURING THE ALLIED DIPLOMATIC PHASE: If Russian subversion is used during the Allied diplomatic phase, the Axis may make a reaction die roll for any of Hungary, Rumania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia and Greece, other than the target of the subversion, during the Axis diplomatic phase following Russia's use of subversion. The following modifier
+2 For each use of Russian subversion to modify a diplomatic die roll, other than for the target of the subversion in the diplomatic phase it is used.
will apply to each eligible minor country's reaction die roll.

Modifiers which allow reaction die rolls are bolded in the diplomatic tables to assist players in identifying them.

49.64 MECHANICS: Every time a reaction die roll is made for a target, all DPs placed in that target for that year are counted. All other currently applicable modifiers are also applied for each reaction die roll.
49.65 RESULTS: Reaction die roll results are implemented immediately.

49.7 AUTOMATIC DIPLOMATIC DIE ROLLS:
49.71 RUSSIAN TERRITORIAL DEMANDS: If Russia makes territorial demands of Rumania, a diplomatic die roll is made immediately to see whether Rumania is willing to resist the Russian territorial demands (66.1).

49.8 TENSION LEVELS:
49.81 ALLOCATION OF TENSION DPs: Axis and Western Allied DPs may be allocated to increase or decrease tension levels as follows:
A. RGT: DPs may not be used to modify RGT.
B. USAT: The Axis and Western Allies may both place DPs in USAT in 1939, 1940 and 1941. Russia may not place DPs in USAT.
C. USJT: DPs may not be used to modify USJT.
49.82 ACTIVATION OF TENSION DPs:
A. DPs ACTIVATED DURING DIPLOMATIC PHASE: DPs allocated to USAT may be activated by the owning alliance faction during any of its diplomatic phases during the year of allocation.
B. ACTIVATION INDEPENDENT OF DIPLOMATIC DIE ROLLS: DPs allocated to USAT may be activated even if the owning alliance faction makes a normal diplomatic die roll in the same turn.
C. ACTIVATION LIMITED TO ONE DP PER TURN: The Axis and Western Allies may each activate no more than one DP in USAT each turn.
49.83 EFFECT OF DPs ON TENSIONS: Each DP may only be used once to decrease or increase tensions, but such decreases and increases are permanent, lasting beyond the end of the year.
49.84 OTHER TENSION MODIFIERS:
49.841 STATUS MODIFIERS:
A. Tension changes from status modifiers for major powers being at war with one another are implemented at the start of the game turn if those major powers went to war on a previous game turn. Status modifiers for countries being at war do not apply in the game turn in which war breaks out (although event modifiers do).
B. Other status modifiers are triggered if the indicated situation exists at the start of a turn or arises in the course of a turn.
C. Tension increases from status modifiers are not negated if the indicated condition ceases to exist.
49.842 EVENT MODIFIERS: Event modifiers are implemented only when the indicated event occurs. Event modifiers based on the capture or control of territory are negated if the territory in question is recaptured and apply again if the territory changes hands a second time.
49.85 ACTUAL AND EFFECTIVE TENSION LEVELS:
49.851 USAT:
A. The actual USAT level is determined by the USAT modifiers. The effective USAT level is the actual USAT level as modified by a die roll. This die roll is made at the end of each Allied diplomatic phase, after the Allies have had an opportunity to use a DP to modify the actual USAT level. This die roll does not change the actual USAT level.
B. This die roll may result in the effective USAT level being less than, the same as, or more than the actual USAT level, as follows: die roll of 1: -2; die roll of 2: -1; die roll of 3 or 4: no effect; die roll of 5: +1; die roll of 6: +2.
C. The effects of each die roll continue throughout the Allied player turn.
D. The effective USAT level governs American mobilizations, YSS RP and DP allotments, BRP grants, deployment of ASW from the U.S. to the Atlantic SW box, construction of CVEs and transports and when the U.S. may declare war on Germany. The effective USAT level at the time an American action is carried out determines whether the action is permitted. The effective USAT level at the end of the Allied diplomatic phase (49.851A) is used to determine whether American mobilizations occur.
49.852 USJT:
A. The actual USJT level is determined by the USJT modifiers. The effective USJT level is the actual USJT level as modified by a die roll. This die roll is made at the end of each Allied diplomatic phase (EXCEPTIONS: If Japan declares war on Britain, without declaring war on the U.S., the die roll is made immediately; if Japan declares war on the U.S., a final die roll is made immediately). This die roll does not change the actual USJT level.
B. This die roll may result in the effective USJT level being less than, the same as, or more than the actual USJT level, as follows: die roll of 1: -2; die roll of 2: -1; die roll of 3 or 4: no effect; die roll of 5: +1; die roll of 6: +2.
C. The effects of each die roll continue from when the die roll is made until the end of the Allied player turn. The effective USJT level determines what American actions are permitted during the Allied player turn (49.852D), and only affects Japanese actions if it forces Japan to mobilize during the Allied player turn, in which case the Japanese mobilization is considered to have occurred during the preceding Japanese player turn (36.11C).
D. The effective USJT level governs American and Japanese mobilizations, YSS RP allotments, BRP grants, deployment limits, imposition of an oil embargo, restrictions on the construction of American carriers, fortification construction, Flying Tiger force pool additions, acceleration and deferring of shipbuilding, the applicable column used on the Pearl Harbor Surprise Table, when the U.S. goes on alert, and when the U.S. may declare war on Japan. The effective USJT level at the time an American action is carried out determines whether the action is permitted. The effective USJT level at the end of the Allied diplomatic phase (49.852A) is used to determine whether American mobilizations occur.
49.86 ACTIONS NOT REVERSED BY A DROP IN TENSIONS: Once an action permitted by a tension level increase has been carried out, a subsequent decrease in applicable tension level does not negate the action. Thus a Russian declaration of war on a minor country or the deployment of ASW from the U.S. to the Atlantic SW box is not reversed by a subsequent change in the RGT level or in the actual or effective USAT level (EXCEPTION: The adjustment of USAT or USJT levels following a U.S. election).
49.87 TENSION INCREASES FROM OFFENSIVE OPERATIONS: The USAT and USJT levels increase by one for every 15 BRPs spent on offensive operations each turn by the European Axis and Japan, respectively. At the end of the Axis combat phase, a remnant of eight or more BRPs triggers an increase; a remnant of seven or fewer BRPs is ignored.

The fronts on which offensive operations are conducted are irrelevant when determining the tension effect of such operations. The BRPs spent on offensive operations on all fronts in a theater are totaled, and tensions increase by one for every multiple of 15 BRPs spent. Once the tension increases, if any, from these expenditures are determined, a remnant of eight or more BRPs then triggers an additional tension increase; a remnant of seven or fewer BRPs does not. In either case, the remnant is then discarded and the BRP expenditures for offensive operations are recalculated for the next turn. Thus the tension effect of BRP expenditures on offensive operations is: 0-7 BRPs = no tension increase; 8-22 BRPs = +1; 23-37 BRPs = +2; and so on.


49.9 SPECIFIC DIPLOMATIC TABLES:
49.91 CLARIFICATIONS: Some diplomatic tables have idiosyncrasies which are clarified below:
A. BELGIUM/LUXEMBOURG:
B. BULGARIA, HUNGARY, RUMANIA, YUGOSLAVIA:
C. FINLAND:
D. IRELAND:
E. SPAIN:
F. THE UKRAINE:
G. VICHY FRANCE: