59. BRITISH SURRENDER
59.1 OVERVIEW
59.2 DETERMINING BRITISH RESISTANCE
59.3 GERMANY REJECTS A BRITISH SURRENDER OFFER
59.4 GERMANY ACCEPTS A BRITISH SURRENDER OFFER
59.5 EFFECTS OF A BRITISH SURRENDER
59.6 GERMAN-BRITISH NEGOTIATIONS
59.7 GERMAN FORBEARANCE
59.8 AFTER A BRITISH SURRENDER

59.1 OVERVIEW:
59.11 At the end of each game turn, the British resistance level is determined to see whether Britain surrenders. As is evident, on most turns the possibility of a British surrender will not arise and this calculation can be safely omitted.
59.12 If the British resistance level is zero or less, Britain offers to surrender. The Axis may accept or decline this offer.
59.13 If the Axis decline a British surrender offer, the game continues as though the offer was not made.
59.14 If the Axis accept a British surrender offer:
A. The size of the British ground and air force pools is adjusted and portions of the Royal Navy may be eliminated. Commonwealth force pools are unaffected.
B. A British surrender does not trigger a U.S. election. The U.S. may enter or continue the war in Europe without restriction alongside what remains of Britain after Britain surrenders unless Russia is also in a state of surrender and Japan has not surrendered (62.91).
59.15 GERMAN ATOMIC ATTACK ON BRITAIN: For the effects of a German atomic attack on Britain if the Western Allies do not have the atomic bomb, see 43.321C.

59.2 DETERMING BRITISH RESISTANCE:
59.21 THE BRITISH RESISTANCE TABLE: At the end of each game turn, the British Resistance Table is consulted to determine whether Britain offers to surrender. No die roll is made - if the net result on the British Resistance Table is zero or less, Britain offers to surrender.
59.22 BRITISH RESISTANCE MODIFIERS:
A. BRITISH DP LEVEL: The British DP level is calculated as though a YSS were taking place. This level may be negative.
B. HEX CONTROL: Objectives controlled by Axis partisans are not controlled by either side and therefore may reduce the British DP level. Hexes which contain Axis atomic attack markers are considered Axis-controlled when calculating the British resistance level. When calculating the British resistance level in a European scenario, Singapore is considered to have been captured by Japan in Winter 1941.
C. OIL EFFECTS: Only oil effects against Britain (excluding Ulster) are counted; oil effects elsewhere are ignored. If the Western Allies offset an oil effect in part of Britain, the adverse resistance modifier for that oil effect is not incurred, even if that oil effect is incurred elsewhere in Britain.

If no oil counters can be shipped to Britain, either because of Atlantic transport problems or because the Axis control every British port, excluding Belfast, Britain will incur all four oil effects unless some are offset by oil counters in the Western Allied European oil reserve. If the Axis have also captured London, Birmingham and Manchester, eliminating the Western Allied European oil reserve (33.422D), Britain will automatically incur all four oil effects.

D. ATLANTIC TRANSPORT LEVEL: The Atlantic transport level is determined at the end of the game turn, after the Western Allies have had an opportunity to replace transport losses. Repaired and newly constructed transports are counted when determining the Atlantic transport level.
E. UNBUILT BRITISH UNITS: Commonwealth units, Free French units, and ground and air units added to the British force pool by production are included when making this determination. Minor ally and associated minor country units are not.
F. NAVAL FORCE RATIO: American and Russian naval factors are included only if they are at war with Germany. Italian naval factors are only included if Italy is at war with Britain. Naval units in the Atlantic and Indian Ocean SW boxes and in the U.S. Atlantic and South Africa boxes are included; naval units in the Pacific, submarines, ASW and transports are not. Uncompleted named ships on the "3" row or higher are not counted; damaged ships and ships on the "2" or "Launch" rows of shipyards are discounted at a 2:1 ratio, rounded down (two damaged naval factors are counted as one naval factor; a remnant damaged naval factor is ignored). A 4:3 ratio yields a +/-1 modifier; a 5:3 ratio yields a +/-2 modifier; a 2:1 ratio yields a +/-3 modifier; a 3:1 ratio yields a +/-4 modifier; and a 4:1 or greater ratio yields a +/-5 modifier. The naval force ratio modifier may not exceed +/-5. Always round toward a 1:1 ratio.

British Resistance Table - 59.21

+/-#

British DP level as calculated at the end of the current Allied player turn. The British DP level may be negative.

-1

Axis control of Malta or Singapore (-1 for each).

-2

If Australia or India has surrendered (-2 for each).

-#

For each atomic attack against Britain (-3 for the first attack; an additional -2 for the second attack; an additional -1 for each subsequent attack).

-1

For each British city firestormed (cumulative).

-1

For each oil effect currently applicable to Britain.

-#

If there are less than ten Western Allied transports in the Atlantic SW box (-1 for each missing transport, up to a maximum of -10).

-1

If there is no Russian armor or infantry unit in eastern Europe.

-1

For every ten unbuilt British and Commonwealth ground/army air factors (round down).

+/-#

Ratio of Allied/Axis naval factors (4:3: +/-1; 5:3: +/-2; 2:1: +/-3; 3:1: +/-4; 4:1 or greater: +/-5). Damaged and uncompleted ships on the "2" or Launch row of a shipyard are considered to be at half strength. Naval units in the Pacific are not counted.

+1

For each major power other than Britain at war with the European Axis.

+1

If the USAT level is between 30 and 39 (inclusive).

+2

If the USAT level is 40 or more and the U.S. is not at war with Germany.

+1

For every five Western Allied ground/army air factors on the western front. Units in the U.S. box are not counted.

+1

If there is a Western Allied armor or infantry unit in Germany.

+1

If there is a Russian armor or infantry unit in western Poland or Rumania.

-1

For every two concession points of territory returned to Britain or not taken by Germany in a previous British surrender.

Explanation: Check at the end of each Allied player turn. If the net result is zero or less, Britain offers to surrender.


59.23 GERMAN RESPONSE TO A BRITISH SURRENDER OFFER: Germany has the option of accepting a British surrender offer or rejecting it in the hope of imposing more severe terms on Britain later in the game. However, Germany must accept a British surrender offer if the British resistance level is –10 or lower.

59.3 GERMANY REJECTS A BRITISH SURRENDER OFFER:
59.31 PLAY CONTINUES: If Germany rejects a British surrender offer, Britain and Germany remain at war and play continues normally. At the end of each subsequent game turn, the British resistance level is again calculated to determine whether Britain again offers to surrender.
59.32 REFUSED SURRENDER OFFER LAPSES: If a British surrender offer is rejected, Germany may not later change its mind and accept the offer; it must await a new offer at the end of another game turn and accept or reject the new offer as it wishes.

59.4 GERMANY ACCEPTS A BRITISH SURRENDER OFFER:
59.41 BRITISH SURRENDER: If Germany accepts a British surrender offer, Britain surrenders and the British resistance level at the moment of surrender becomes the British surrender level, up to a maximum of -10, and the size of the British ground and air force pools and Royal Navy is adjusted (59.51).

59.5 EFFECTS OF A BRITISH SURRENDER:
59.51 BRITISH FORCE LEVELS:
59.511 NO REDUCTION AFTER A "0" SURRENDER: A "0" surrender level has no effect on the level of British forces.
59.512 REDUCTION OF BRITISH FORCES: For each level of surrender below "0", Britain removes two AAF and four BRPs of ground units or NAS from its force pool and eliminates ten naval factors. A British surrender level of -1 thus results in the removal of two AAF, four BRPs of other British units and 10 naval factors; a British surrender level of -2 results in the removal of four AAF, eight BRPs of other British units and 20 naval factors; and so on. Q&A
59.513 IMPLEMENTING BRITISH FORCE REDUCTIONS: British force reductions following a "-1" or lower British surrender are implemented as follows:
A. BRITISH PLAYER SELECTS: Subject to 59.512, the British player selects the ground and air units to be removed from the British force pool and the naval units to be eliminated.
B. GROUND UNITS: Unbuilt ground units, ground units in the European and Pacific theaters and ground units of any type added to the British force pool through mobilization or production are subject to removal. Units removed continue to count towards Britain’s maximum force pool limits. Canadian, South African, Australian and Indian ground units remain in the British force pool.
C. AIR UNITS: Unbuilt air units, air units in the European and Pacific theaters and AAF or NAS added to the British force pool through mobilization or production are subject to removal. British strategic bombers, interceptors and jets and Australian AAF remain in the British force pool.
D. NAVAL UNITS: For each level of surrender below “0”, ten factors of British naval units must be eliminated. Submarines and incomplete, damaged, sunk in port and salvageable naval units are subject to elimination. ASW, transports and Australian naval units are not subject to elimination. Naval units in Asia are subject to elimination except in a European scenario. Incomplete, damaged, sunk in port and salvageable naval units are discounted as follows:
E. ELIMINATION OF ONE TYPE OF UNIT: If all the existing British ground, air or naval units are eliminated, this has no effect on the remaining British force levels (for example, if no ground units are available for removal, this does not result in the removal of additional air units from the British force pool).
F. REQUIREMENTS MUST BE MET: The total value of ground and air units removed from the British force pool and naval units eliminated must at least equal the requirements of the British surrender level (59.512). If the right denominations of ground, air or naval counters are not available, the British player may be forced to eliminate excess units in order to meet the requirements of a British surrender. Thus four 3-factor battleships could be eliminated to meet the requirement to eliminate ten naval factors.
59.514 UNITS NOT SUBJECT TO ELIMINATION: The following units are not subject to elimination following a British surrender:
A. Strategic bombers, interceptors and jets (59.513C).
B. ASW and transports (59.513D).
C. Canadian, South African, Australian and Indian ground, air and naval units (59.513B, C and D).
D. Free French units.
E. Minor ally and associated minor country units, unless their political status is changed by surrender negotiations.
59.52 COMMONWEALTH NATIONS TURN TO U.S.: Starting in the turn after a British surrender, all Canadian, South African, Australian and Indian units may be freely lent to the U.S. The U.S. may pay for and control their operations. The Commonwealth BRP base remains under British control (35.46).

59.6 GERMAN-BRITISH NEGOTIATIONS:
59.61 WAR CONTINUES: If the U.S. was at war with Germany when Britain surrenders both Britain and the U.S. continue the war. Both the Axis and Western Allies retain all territory they control and no concessions or territorial transfers are made. The only effect of the British surrender is that the British force levels are reduced (59.51).

A British surrender where the Western Allies remain at war with the Axis represents the collapse of the Churchill government due to war weariness among the British public and the associated political paralysis in Parliament. The British continue to fight, largely because of the U.S., but their warmaking capability is permanently reduced.

59.62 PEACE: If the U.S. was not at war in Europe, then a peace treaty is negotiated between Germany and Britain and the following adjustments are made:
59.63 HEX CONTROL:
59.631 BRITISH-CONTROLLED HEXES REQUIRE SUPPLY: Subject to German territorial demands (59.66), Britain retains control of all hexes it controlled when it surrenders, provided it can fully supply such hexes by tracing a supply line from a mapboard box to them. Axis ZoCs and possible air and naval interception of sea supply lines are not taken into account in determining the supply status of British-controlled hexes. Supply from an on-board supply source and air supply, which provides only partial supply, are insufficient to retain hex control. Axis and Western Allied partisans are not taken into account in determining hex control or tracing supply when implementing a British surrender.
59.632 UNSUPPLIED HEXES: British-controlled hexes which cannot trace a supply line from a mapboard box come under German control.
59.633 NO EXCEPTIONS: There are no exceptions to the hex control rules set out in 59.631 and 59.632: British key economic areas and other objective hexes, including London, are transferred to German control if they cannot trace a supply line from a mapboard box. British fortifications and fortresses in such hexes are eliminated.
59.634 BRITISH COLONIES: Outside of Britain, after determining control of all British hexes, the side which controls an area for BRP purposes gains control of all hexes in the area, regardless of supply, and the other side must withdraw all its units (EXCEPTION: partisans) from that area, repatriating them to the nearest supplied hex under friendly control, subject to stacking limits. Areas which have no BRP value are considered to be controlled by the side which controls the capital or, if there is no capital, the most cities in the area (Allied control if an equal number of cities). Once hex control is determined, some areas may change hands as a result of the terms of the British surrender, as outlined below.
59.65 BRITISH CONCESSION TABLE: The value in concession points of the territorial and economic concessions Germany may obtain from Britain is set out in the British Concession Table. Germany receives two concession points for each British surrender level, up to a maximum total value of all eligible concessions (British surrender level of 0: no concessions; British surrender level of 1: two concession points; British surrender level of 2: four concession points; and so on).

British Concession Table - 59.65

Priority

Concession (value)

1

Lebanon/Syria, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Libya, Albania (one each)

2

British minor allies, associated minor countries or conquests (neutrality: one for every five minor BRPs; Axis control: two for every five minor BRPs)

3

Malta, Palestine, Transjordan (one each)

4

Egypt, Iraq, (two each); Gibraltar (three)

5

Ulster (two: becomes part of Ireland); Ireland (two); Scapa Flow (three)

6

Scotland (four: hex rows C to F)

7

Central England, including Birmingham and Manchester (five: hex rows G to J)

8

Southern England, including London (six: hex rows K and L)

 

Indemnity, to a maximum of 30 BRPs. (One for each 10 BRPs)

Explanation: The British Concession Table sets out the value of territorial and economic concessions that may be demanded by Germany if Britain surrenders. The same values are used if Germany returns British territory which is under Axis control at the time of surrender.

For concession purposes, Cyprus is considered to be part of Palestine and Kuwait is considered to be part of Iraq.

All priority 1 territories must be conceded or under Axis control before any priority 2 territories are taken; all priority 2 territories must be conceded or under Axis control before any priority 3 territories are taken; and so on. An indemnity of 10, 20 or 30 BRPs may be imposed without restriction.


59.66 TERRITORIAL DEMANDS: Germany may select any combination of eligible territorial and economic concessions up to the value allowed, subject to the restriction that a higher priority territory may only be selected if all eligible lower priority territories are first selected, or are already under Axis control or are independent when Britain surrenders. Concessions are implemented as follows:
A. AMERICAN UNITS: Concession territories will not contain American units, because no British concessions are made if the U.S. is at war with Germany (59.61).
B. AREAS CONTAINING RUSSIAN UNITS: Russian units do not prevent an area from being ceded to the Axis. Russian units in areas ceded to the Axis are immediately placed in the nearest Russian-controlled hex outside the ceded area, subject to stacking limits. Russian units in areas that remain under control of a neutral Britain are automatically considered to be in at least partial supply, but may not attack and are eliminated if they have not left neutral territory by the end of their next player turn.
C. EFFECT ON BRITISH AND COMMONWEALTH UNITS: All British and Commonwealth units in ceded areas are immediately placed in any hex in the nearest concession area remaining under British control, subject to stacking limits and geographical restrictions, then to mapboard boxes (Australian units to the Australia box; Indian units to the India box; British, Canadian, and South African units to the U.S. Atlantic box or South Africa – Britain’s choice) if no onboard map hexes are available. Supply status, transport and sea escort requirements are not considered when relocating British units from ceded areas.
D. DISPUTED AREAS IN BRITAIN: If areas in Britain contain both British-controlled and Axis-controlled hexes, each side retains control of those hexes. If Germany wishes to obtain control of the entire area, it must pay the full concession price.
E. MINOR COUNTRIES: Neutralized minor countries return to their original status. British minor allies and associated minor countries that are not neutralized or transferred to Axis control retain their status. Minor countries transferred to Axis control are treated as conquests. If Persia and Arabia have associated with Britain, they are treated as minor countries worth five BRPs for concession purposes, although they have no actual BRP value.
F. WAFDISTS: If Britain surrenders prior to U.S. entry into the war and retains control of Egypt, all Wafdist partisans are eliminated and no new Wafdist partisans may be built by the Axis until they are at war with the U.S. If the Axis take Egypt as a concession or if the U.S. is at war with Germany, the Wafdist partisans remain in play.
G. ITALIAN ACQUISITIONS: Territories in the Mediterranean front ceded to the Axis may, if Germany permits, come under Italian control.
H. USAT EFFECTS: Areas obtained by the Axis as concessions have the same effect on USAT as though they were obtained by conquest.
59.67 INDEMNITIES: Each time Britain surrenders, Germany may impose a one-time indemnity of 10, 20 or 30 BRPs on Britain in the same manner as it obtains territory. Britain’s BRP level is immediately reduced by the amount of the indemnity and Germany’s BRP level is increased by the same amount.
59.68 THE TERMS OF SURRENDER: The reductions in the British force pool set out in 59.51 are automatic and are not negotiable. The territorial and economic concessions Britain may be compelled to make to the Axis are limited by the British surrender level. The total concession value of all British territories acquired by the Axis and any indemnity imposed on Britain may not exceed the number of concession points for the British surrender level.

59.7 GERMAN FORBEARANCE:
59.71 GERMAN CONCILIATION: Germany may pursue a conciliatory policy with respect to Britain and the United States by voluntarily limiting its territorial and economic demands to less than the maximum allowed (the lower of the number of concession points for the British surrender level or whatever Britain has left). In addition, territories already controlled by the Axis may be returned to British control.
59.72 RETURNING TERRITORY TO BRITISH CONTROL: Territories controlled by the Axis when Britain surrenders may be returned to Britain as part of a conciliatory policy. Germany may return to Britain any territory it wishes; it is not restricted to returning territories with higher priority values first. Britain may not refuse to accept the return of territories.
59.73 RESTRICTIONS ON THE RETURN OF TERRITORY: The return of territory to Britain is subject to the following restrictions:
A. The territories must be listed on the British Concession Table.
B. The territories must have been controlled by Britain at the start of the game or have come under British control in the course of play other than as a result of an Axis declaration of war.
C. A territory may only be returned to Britain once per game. Territories returned to Britain during a previous British surrender, then reconquered by the Axis, may not be returned to Britain again during a subsequent Britain surrender.
D. To return southern England to Britain as part of a conciliatory policy, the Axis must control London.
E. To return central England to Britain, the Axis must control Birmingham and Manchester.
F. Scotland, which does not contain a key economic area, must be completely controlled by the Axis before it can be returned to Britain.
G. Germany may not exchange territories already controlled by the Axis for territories controlled by Britain at the moment of surrender. If Germany returns territory to Britain, it may not acquire other territory and must content itself with economic and political concessions.
59.74 FORCE REDUCTIONS UNAFFECTED BY CONCILIATION: A German policy of conciliation does not affect any reduction in British forces required by the British Surrender Table.
59.75 EFFECTS OF A CONCILIATORY POLICY: The value of concessions voluntarily not taken by Germany, as well as the value of any territories returned to Britain by Germany during negotiations, is determined by reference to the British Concession Table.
A. BRITISH RESISTANCE LEVEL REDUCED: The British resistance level for future turns is reduced by one for every two full concession points of territory returned to Britain or not taken by Germany. This effect is only relevant if the U.S. later declares war on Germany, so that Britain is again at war (59.86). If Britain surrenders more than once, only the resistance effects of concessions during the most recent British surrender apply to subsequent calculations of the British resistance level. The resistance effects of concessions during previous British surrenders are ignored.
B. USAT: The USAT level is reduced by two for each concession point of territory returned to Britain or not taken by Germany. No other USAT event modifiers are triggered by the return of territory to Britain. For example, the normal -1 USAT modifier for Britain's regaining control of Baghdad is subsumed by the -4 USAT adjustment resulting from the return of Iraq (a two-point concession area).

59.8 AFTER A BRITISH SURRENDER:
59.81 BRITAIN CONTINUES AS A MAJOR POWER: After a British surrender, Britain continues the game as a major power, with its own BRP base and level, force pool, RPs, DPs and airbase counters. Britain’s BRP base may not drop below the 40 BRPs associated with the Commonwealth, reduced to 30 or 20 BRPs if one or both of Australia and India surrender (35.46).
59.82 CONSTRUCTION OF BRITISH FORCES IN CANADA: British units may be built in Canada if:
A. Britain has surrendered and the British resistance level is zero or less; or
B. All hexes in Britain are isolated or under Axis control.
59.83 BRITAIN GOVERNED BY RESTRICTIONS ON U.S.: Once it has surrendered, British participation in the war is governed by American participation. If the U.S. is neutral, British forces are also neutral.
59.84 DEPLOYMENTS BY A NEUTRAL BRITAIN: While the U.S. and Britain are neutral, British and Commonwealth, but not American, units may deploy to Europe. A neutral Britain may not redeploy units past an Axis-controlled Gibraltar or through Axis-controlled territory, nor may it declare war on neutral minor countries.
59.85 CONTINUATION OF THE WAR: If the U.S. is at war with Germany when Britain surrenders, the U.S. and Britain continue to be at war with the Axis unless Russia is also in a state of surrender and Japan has surrendered (62.91).
59.86 RESUMPTION OF THE WAR: If the U.S. is not at war with Germany when Britain surrenders, the following rules apply to the resumption of the war:
A. IMMEDIATE RESUMPTION OF WAR PROHIBITED: Neither Germany nor the U.S. may declare war on the other in the turn following a British surrender.
B. GERMAN DECLARATION OF WAR: A German declaration of war on the U.S. in the second or any subsequent turn after a British surrender puts Germany at war with the U.S. and Britain at no BRP cost (50.32A) and allows Axis attacks on British territory and forces. Germany may not declare war on Britain alone.
C. AMERICAN DECLARATION OF WAR: If the USAT level reaches 50 in the second or any subsequent turn after a British surrender, the U.S. may declare war on Germany. This puts the U.S. and Britain at war with Germany.
59.87 ADDITIONAL BRITISH SURRENDERS: British resistance level calculations are made normally at the end of each turn and Britain may surrender again if its resistance level drops below the level of the initial surrender unless Germany declares war on the Western Allies after a British surrender (59.86B).
59.871 CALCULATING THE BRITISH RESISTANCE LEVEL: British units which were removed from the British force pool when it first surrendered are considered to be unbuilt when calculating the British resistance level for a second surrender. If Germany adopted a conciliatory policy towards Britain during previous surrender negotiations, an additional modifier may apply to the British resistance level (59.75A).
59.872 EFFECTS OF A SECOND SURRENDER: If Britain surrenders a second time, the concession level and value of forces removed are determined by the difference between the new and old surrender levels.
59.873 REPEATED SURRENDERS POSSIBLE: Theoretically, there is no limit to the number of times Britain may surrender.
59.88 BRITISH PARTISANS: The Western Allies, if at war with Germany, may build two (increased to a maximum of four by Western Allied partisan production - 11.22B) partisans in Axis-controlled territory in Britain.
59.89 BRITISH SURRENDER EFFECTS IN THE FAR EAST:
59.891 If, when Britain surrenders to Germany, Japan:
A. Is not at war with either Britain or the U.S., Japan may not go to war with Britain without also going to war with the U.S.
B. Is at war with both Britain and the U.S., the British surrender takes effect only in Europe and Britain continues to fight Japan in conjunction with the U.S.
C. Is at war with Britain, but not with the U.S., Japan may either end hostilities with Britain or continue fighting. The Japanese player makes this decision at the moment of surrender.
59.892 If Japan adheres to the peace treaty between Germany and Britain:
A. Hex control is determined according to 59.63.
B. No British concessions are made in the Far East. Australia and India remain British minor allies.
C. In the second or any subsequent turn following a British surrender, Japan may declare war on Britain and the U.S. and resume fighting.
59.893 British ground, air and naval units in Asia are subject to the normal British force pool reductions, whether or not Japan adheres to the peace treaty between Germany and Britain.
59.894 If Japan declines to adhere to a German-British treaty, fighting between Japan and Britain continues indefinitely unless Britain reenters the European war and then surrenders to Germany a second time.