60. RUSSIAN SURRENDER
60.1 DETERMINING RUSSIAN SURRENDER
60.2 EFFECTS OF A RUSSIAN SURRENDER
60.3 UNITS
60.4 HEXES
60.5 MINOR COUNTRIES
60.6 BRPs
60.7 JAPANESE PARTICIPATION
60.8 RUSSIA AFTER A SURRENDER
60.9 PACIFIC THEATER SCENARIOS

60.1 DETERMINING RUSSIAN SURRENDER:
60.11 RUSSIAN SURRENDER CONDITIONS: Russia offers to surrender at the end of any Allied player turn in which the Russian resistance level, as determined by the Russian Resistance Table, is zero or less. Germany has the option of accepting the Russian surrender offer or rejecting it in the hope of imposing more severe terms on Russia. Q&A

Russian Resistance Table - 60.11

+/-#

Russian DP level as calculated at the end of the current Allied player turn. The Russian DP level may be negative.

-#

For each atomic attack against Russia (-3 for the first attack; an additional -2 for the second attack; an additional -1 for each subsequent attack).

-1

For each Russian city firestormed (cumulative).

-1

For each oil effect currently applicable to Russia.

-1

If Axis forces control at least one hex in Britain (Scapa Flow is included, Ulster is not).

-1

For every ten unbuilt Russian ground/army air factors.

-1

For each IC controlled by Russia below 7
(6 ICs: -1; 5 ICs: -2; 4 ICs: -3; and so on).

+1

For each IC controlled by Russia above 7
(8 ICs: +1; 9 ICs: +2; 10 ICs: +3; and so on).

+1

For each Western Allied major power at war with Germany.

+1

If the Western Allies control at least two hexes in European France.

Explanation: Check at the end of each Allied player turn. If the net result is zero or less, Russia offers to surrender.


A cursory examination of the Russian Resistance Table surrender rules will confirm that Russia will not offer to surrender until it has suffered substantial territorial, economic and military losses. This means players only have to calculate the Russian resistance level if Russia is in trouble.

60.12 GERMANY REJECTS A RUSSIAN SURRENDER OFFER: If Germany rejects a Russian surrender offer, Russia and Germany remain at war and play continues normally. At the end of each subsequent Russian player turn, the Russian Resistance Table is again consulted to determine whether Russia again offers to surrender. Once Germany rejects a Russian surrender offer, it cannot change its mind but must await a new offer at the end of a later Russian player turn, which it can accept or reject as it wishes.

60.2 EFFECTS OF A RUSSIAN SURRENDER:
60.21 GERMANY ACCEPTS A RUSSIAN SURRENDER OFFER: If Germany accepts a Russian surrender offer, Russia surrenders, with the results set out below.
60.22 A Russian surrender does not trigger a U.S. election. The U.S. may enter or continue the war in Europe without restriction unless Britain is also in a state of surrender and Japan has not surrendered (62.91).

60.3 UNITS:
60.31 UNITS REMAIN IN PLAY: All Russian units except partisans remain in play.
60.32 UNITS IN UNSUPPLIED HEXES: Russian units in hexes which pass to German control (60.42) are eliminated and returned to the Russian force pool as allowable builds.
60.33 RUSSIAN UNITS IN WESTERN ALLIED HEXES: Russian units in Western Allied-controlled hexes are repatriated to the nearest Russian-controlled hex, subject to stacking limits.
60.34 RUSSIAN PARTISANS: All Russian and communist partisans, including those in minor countries, are eliminated (EXCEPTION: Communist Chinese partisans are unaffected by a Russian surrender).
60.35 WESTERN ALLIED PARTISANS: The Western Allies may not construct partisans in Europe after a Russian surrender until Russia reenters the war. Western Allied partisans which are on the board when Russia surrenders remain in play.

60.4 HEXES:
60.41 RUSSIAN-CONTROLLED HEXES REQUIRE SUPPLY: Russia retains control of all hexes it controlled when it surrenders, provided it can fully supply such hexes by tracing a supply line from the eastern edge of the board to them. Axis ZoCs and possible air and naval interception of sea supply lines are not taken into account in determining the supply status of Russian-controlled hexes. Supply from an IC and air supply, which provide only partial supply, are insufficient to retain hex control. Q&A
60.42 UNSUPPLIED HEXES: Russian-controlled hexes which cannot trace a supply line from the eastern edge of the board come under German control.
60.43 NO EXCEPTIONS: There are no exceptions to the hex control rules set out in 60.41 and 60.42: Russian ICs and objective hexes, including Moscow, are transferred to German control if they cannot trace a supply line from the eastern edge of the board. Russian fortifications and fortresses in such hexes are eliminated.
60.44 ISOLATED AXIS HEXES: After unsupplied Russian-controlled hexes have passed to German control, Axis-controlled hexes which cannot receive at least limited supply from an Axis supply source revert to Russian control and any Axis units in such hexes are repatriated to the nearest supplied, Axis-controlled hex. Russian ZoCs, air supply and possible air and naval interception of sea supply lines are not taken into account in determining the supply status of Axis-controlled hexes. Q&A
60.45 PARTISAN CONTROL OF HEXES DISREGARDED: Russian partisans are not taken into account in determining hex control or tracing supply when implementing a Russian surrender.

60.5 MINOR COUNTRIES:
60.51 SUPPLY REQUIRED: Russia retains its minor allies, associated minor countries, diplomatically controlled minor countries and conquests after surrendering, provided it can fully supply their capitals by tracing a supply line from the eastern edge of the board to them. Axis ZoCs and possible air and naval interception of sea supply lines are not taken into account in determining the supply status of Russian-controlled minor countries. Otherwise Russian-controlled minor countries come under German control as conquests and their units are permanently eliminated.
60.52 WESTERN ALLIED UNITS IN RUSSIAN MINOR COUNTRIES: Western Allied units in Russian-controlled minor countries are repatriated to the nearest Western Allied-controlled hex, subject to stacking limits.

60.6 BRPs:
60.61 RUSSIAN BRP GRANTS TO GERMANY: Beginning in the Russian player turn after a Russian surrender, during its initial supply determination Russia must grant to Germany BRPs equivalent to the current production value of Russia’s most valuable IC (10 BRPs per turn if Russia has no ICs). Russian BRP grants to Germany reduce Russia’s construction limit in the turn they are made and increase Germany’s construction limit in the following Axis player turn.
60.62 BRP GRANTS COMPULSORY: Russian BRP grants to Germany must be made whether or not Russia has any ICs remaining and even if the BRP grant creates or increases a Russian BRP deficit.
60.63 AID FROM THE WEST: After it surrenders, Russia may receive aid from the Western Allies, subject to the normal rules relating to the manner in which BRP grants are made to Russia and the means by which the Axis may interfere with or prevent such grants (40). The Persian BRP route may be opened after a Russian surrender.

60.7 JAPANESE PARTICIPATION:
60.71 JAPANESE PARTICIPATION OPTIONAL: If Japan is at war with Russia when Russia surrenders to Germany, Japan may either end hostilities with Russia or continue fighting. The Japanese player makes this decision when Russia surrenders.
60.72 PEACE: If Japan adheres to the peace treaty, rules 60.3 and 60.4 are applied to the Pacific theater (EXCEPTION: Communist Chinese partisans are unaffected). Japan may later declare war on Russia and resume fighting.
60.73 WAR: If Japan declines to adhere to a German-Russian treaty, fighting between Japan and Russia continues indefinitely. Rules 60.3 and 60.4 are applied only to the European theater and have no effect in the Pacific.

60.8 RUSSIA AFTER A SURRENDER:
60.81 RUSSIA CONTINUES PLAY: After surrendering, Russia remains in the game and continues to take its turns normally. Russian BRP totals are calculated each YSS, any remaining mobilizations are completed at a rate of one per turn (36.11D), Russian RPs and DPs are allocated and activated (EXCEPTION: Russia may not name diplomatic targets while in a state of surrender), and Russian ICs increase in value normally. Western Allied units may enter Russia as permitted by 53.47.
60.82 RESUMPTION OF HOSTILITIES: Russia may declare war on the European Axis or Japan after it has surrendered if the Russian resistance level at the end of the preceding Russian player turn was greater than zero. Germany and Japan may declare war on Russia at any time after Russia has surrendered. All such declarations of war have the normal BRP cost and affect USAT and USJT normally.
60.83 EFFECTS OF A SECOND RUSSO-GERMAN WAR: If a second German-Russian war breaks out, Germany no longer receives BRP grants from Russia. If Russia declared war on the Axis after a Russian surrender, Russian resistance level calculations continue to be made, and a second Russian surrender is possible. If Germany declared war on Russia after a Russian surrender, no second Russian surrender is possible and no further Russian resistance level calculations need be made.

60.9 PACIFIC THEATER SCENARIOS:
60.91 In Pacific theater scenarios, Russia never surrenders.