77. VICHY FRANCE
77.1 ESTABLISHMENT OF VICHY FRANCE OPTIONAL
77.2 VICHY FRANCE
77.3 VICHY FRENCH HEXES
77.4 VICHY FRENCH UNITS
77.5 ATTACKING VICHY FRANCE
77.6 ATTACKING VICHY FRENCH COLONIES
77.7 VICHY FRANCE AS A DIPLOMATIC TARGET
77.8 VICHY FRANCE AS A GERMAN MINOR ALLY
77.9 ELIMINATION OF VICHY FRANCE
77.1 ESTABLISHMENT OF VICHY FRANCE OPTIONAL:
77.11 AXIS PLAYER HAS OPTION: When France surrenders, the Axis player has the option of creating Vichy France as part of the French surrender process (58.3).
77.2 VICHY FRANCE:
77.21 VICHY FRANCE AS A MINOR COUNTRY: Vichy France consists of the southern portion of France as defined by the Vichy French border, Corsica and all French colonies which became Vichy French, other than colonies subsequently conquered by the Allies. If Vichy France is established by the Axis player, it is a minor country worth 20 BRPs (for the key economic areas of Lyon and Marseilles), plus the BRP value of any Vichy colonies (58.31A), with its capital in Vichy city.
77.22 VICHY CITY: Vichy city functions as the capital of Vichy France between the fall of France and the conquest or deactivation of Vichy France and is an unlimited supply source for Vichy units. Vichy city becomes an Axis or Allied limited supply source only if Vichy France associates or allies with one side or the other; it is treated as an ordinary city at all other times.
77.3 VICHY FRENCH HEXES:
77.31 CONTROL OF VICHY FRENCH HEXES: Vichy French hexes are neutral and are controlled by neither side except after a Vichy French diplomatic result which specifies that one side or the other gains control of the Vichy French hexes.
77.32 AXIS CONTROL: The Axis gain control of the Vichy French hexes after a diplomatic result for Vichy France of “8” or greater.
77.33 ALLIED CONTROL: The Allies gain control of the Vichy French hexes after a diplomatic result for Vichy France of “-1” or less.
77.34 SUPPLY: Neither side may trace supply through Vichy French territory unless it controls the Vichy French hexes (EXCEPTION: Axis units in the Axis player turn following the French surrender).
77.4 VICHY FRENCH UNITS:
77.41 AXIS CONTROL VICHY FRENCH FORCES: When Vichy France is established, one Vichy French 2-3 infantry unit must be placed and remain in Vichy city and the capital of each European Vichy French colony until Vichy France associates or allies with one side or the other (EXCEPTIONS: Vichy infantry units in French colonial capitals may be sent to Russia after a “5-6”, “7” or “8” diplomatic result for Vichy France; Vichy units in French colonies which become Free French after Vichy deactivation may move freely). The remaining Vichy French forces are placed in Vichy France and are controlled by the Axis, regardless of the French surrender level, until a diplomatic result for Vichy France alters the situation.
77.42 REINFORCEMENT OF VICHY COLONIES: Vichy French colonies may be reinforced by Vichy units only if a diplomatic result of “5-6” or greater for Vichy France is in effect. If this condition is met, Vichy French units may NR from Vichy France to Vichy French colonies, using Vichy French destroyers for sea escort, and both newly-arrived Vichy French units and Vichy French units already in Vichy French colonies may redeploy within and between Vichy colonies.
77.43 AIR AND NAVAL NATIONALITY DRMs: Vichy French air and naval units have a Nationality DRM of one. This may be increased if Vichy France is associated or allied with an alliance faction which has achieved an Air or Naval Nationality research result.
77.44 VICHY FRENCH NAVAL UNITS: Damaged or unfinished Vichy French naval units may be repaired or completed in the Marseilles shipyard at no BRP cost prior to Vichy activation.
77.45 CONSTRUCTION OF VICHY FRENCH UNITS: Regardless of the status of Vichy France, Vichy French units may only be rebuilt in continental Vichy France. Vichy French units may not be rebuilt in Corsica or Vichy colonies.
77.5 ATTACKING VICHY FRANCE:
77.51 DECLARATION OF WAR REQUIRED: A declaration of war on Vichy France is permitted only in the following circumstances:
A. Germany, Britain and the U.S. may declare war on Vichy France if Germany and the U.S. are at war. A declaration of war on Vichy France may be made at the same time as a German declaration of war on the U.S. or an American declaration of war on Germany.
B. Germany may declare ware on Vichy France in the turn in which it makes a reaction roll as a result of an Allied attack on a French North African colony in the previous turn (49.633). Otherwise Germany may not declare war on Vichy France prior to U.S. entry into the war.
C. Britain may not declare war on Vichy France prior to U.S. entry into the war unless a diplomatic result of “7” or “8” for Vichy France is in effect.
77.52 EFFECT OF AN AXIS DECLARATION OF WAR: If Germany declares war on Vichy France:
A. All Vichy French ground, air and naval units other than those in Vichy French colonies are permanently eliminated immediately after the German declaration of war on Vichy France.
B. All hexes in European Vichy France and Corsica are deemed to have been controlled and fully supplied by Germany from the start of the Axis player turn in which it declared war.
C. Control of Vichy French colonies after a German declaration of war on Vichy France is determined as follows:
D. Germany does not receive the BRPs for conquering Vichy France until the turn after it declares war.
- All Vichy French-controlled hexes in Vichy French colonies are deemed to have been controlled, but not supplied, by Germany from the start of the Axis player turn in which Germany declares war on Vichy France until the end of the Axis movement phase of that turn.
- The movement of Axis units into Vichy French-controlled hexes in Vichy French colonies may not be impeded or opposed by Vichy French units.
- If, at the end of the Axis movement phase, there is a German, Italian or Axis minor allied ground unit in a Vichy French colonial capital, the Axis retain control of that colony's hexes and all Vichy French units in that colony are eliminated. Otherwise, all Vichy French-controlled hexes in that colony come under Western Allied control and all Vichy French units in that colony become Free French, including Vichy French units which survived a Western Allied attack on that colony (77.62C).
77.53 EFFECT OF AN ALLIED DECLARATION OF WAR: If an Allied major power declares war on Vichy France, the Vichy French forces remain in their hexes and are not redeployed to meet the attack. Vichy France associates with Germany if it survives the first turn of the attack. In addition, the Axis may make a reaction die roll for Vichy France during their next diplomatic phase (49.633).
77.6 ATTACKING VICHY FRENCH COLONIES:
77.61 NO DECLARATION OF WAR REQUIRED: Britain and the U.S. may attack Vichy colonies without a declaration of war on Vichy France or the Vichy colony, even if the Axis have control of the Vichy colonies following a diplomatic result of “8” for Vichy France. Such attacks on Vichy colonies do not cost 10 BRPs for a declaration of war and do not trigger a decrease in the USAT level.
77.62 VICHY COLONIAL RESISTANCE: The resistance offered by Vichy colonies attacked by the Western Allies is determined as follows:
A. RESISTANCE DIE ROLL: For each European Vichy colony attacked by the Western Allies, one die is rolled at the moment the attack occurs (the movement phase if Western Allied ground units enter the Vichy colony by land; the combat phase if the Western Allies conduct a seaborne invasion, ground attack or exploit).
B. MODIFIERS: The die roll is modified by all the diplomatic modifiers applying to Vichy France at that moment, including DPs placed in Vichy France in that year, whether previously used or not, any spy rings in Vichy France, and any covert operations successfully used against Vichy France when the die roll is made.
C. RESULTS: The resistance offered by the attacked Vichy colony depends on the result of the modified die roll:
D. EACH COLONY SEPARATE: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Lebanon-Syria are each treated as separate colonies for the purposes of this rule.
- On a result or “2” or less, the attacked Vichy colony capitulates. All Vichy French units in the colony become Free French, and all hexes in the colony immediately come under either American (if the U.S. is at war with Germany) or British control.
- On a result or “3” or “4”, the attacked Vichy colony disintegrates. All Vichy French units in the colony are permanently eliminated, and all hexes in the colony are controlled by no one.
- On a result or “5” or more, the attacked Vichy colony resists. All Vichy French units in the colony are controlled by Germany and may stack, attack and defend with Axis units, and all hexes in the colony immediately come under German control.
77.63 VICHY REACTION TRIGGERED: Regardless of the outcome of the die roll(s) for Vichy colonial resistance, the Axis may make a reaction die roll for Vichy France during their diplomatic phase following any Western Allied attack on a Vichy colony (49.633). No reaction die roll is permitted if Vichy France was associated or allied with Germany when the colony is attacked.
77.64 EFFECT OF AXIS UNITS IN ATTACKED VICHY COLONIES: Axis units in Vichy French colonies which have been attacked by the Western Allies (77.6) are not counted against the ten-factor limit for Vichy France which applies following a diplomatic result of “8” for Vichy France and do not modify subsequent diplomatic die rolls for Vichy France.
77.7 VICHY FRANCE AS A DIPLOMATIC TARGET:
77.71 NAMING VICHY FRANCE: Vichy France may be named as a diplomatic target by either side, but not in the same year as the fall of France. In addition, the Axis may make a reaction die roll for Vichy France if the Allies attack a Vichy colony.
77.72 FRENCH SURRENDER LEVEL AS A MODIFIER: A positive French surrender level generates a +1 modifier to all Vichy diplomatic die rolls; a negative French surrender level generates a -1 modifier to all Vichy diplomatic die rolls.
77.73 FRIENDLY AND ENEMY UNITS AS A MODIFIER: When determining the modifier to Vichy French diplomatic die rolls from the presence of friendly and enemy ground/air factors, only units in continental Vichy France, Corsica and Vichy colonies which have not been attacked by the Western Allies (77.6) are counted. Units in Vichy colonies which have been attacked by the Western Allies are disregarded.
77.8 VICHY FRANCE AS A GERMAN MINOR ALLY:
77.81 ACTIVATION OF VICHY FRANCE: Vichy France may only be activated as a German minor ally by a diplomatic result of “10+” for Vichy France. When activated, all Vichy units become part of the German force pool, and Germany receives the Vichy French BRPs.
77.82 NO AREA RESTRICTIONS ON ACTIVE VICHY FORCES: If Vichy France activates as a German minor ally, there are no area restrictions on Vichy unit activity.
77.83 VICHY FORCES OUTSIDE FRENCH TERRITORY: Vichy infantry units incur a -1 DM if attacked while outside France or a French colony (15.33B; EXCEPTION: Vichy volunteers fighting on the eastern front following a diplomatic result for Vichy France of “5-6”, “7”, “8” or “9”).
77.84 REBUILDING VICHY UNITS: Vichy units may only be rebuilt in the Vichy portion of France proper.
77.9 ELIMINATION OF VICHY FRANCE:
77.91 CONQUEST: Vichy France ceases to exist and all Vichy French units are removed from the board at the end of any combat phase in which the city of Vichy is solely occupied or controlled by enemy forces. Free French units are unaffected.
77.92 ALLIED RECAPTURE OF PARIS: If the Allies have not declared war on Vichy France and a diplomatic result of “-2” or “-3” is not in effect, Vichy France ceases to exist and all Vichy French units are removed from the board at the end of any Axis combat phase in which the Axis fail to recapture an Allied-controlled Paris. Free French units are unaffected.
77.93 EFFECTS: If Vichy France is eliminated as set out in 77.91 or 77.92, all hexes in European Vichy France and Corsica pass to German control, unless Allied units have moved into or through them. Any remaining Vichy colonies are controlled by no one.
77.94 DIPLOMATIC RESULT OF “0” or “-1”: A diplomatic result of “0” or “-1” for Vichy France, before or after Vichy activation, deactivates Vichy France and all Vichy forces, including those in Vichy colonies, are removed from the board. Vichy France ceases to exist as a political entity, becoming again merely a part of France. After a diplomatic result of “-1” for Vichy France, the Vichy French hexes come under Allied control; after a “0” result, the Vichy French hexes are controlled by no one; Vichy colonies that do not have an Axis or Allied unit in their capital are controlled by no one.
77.95 DIPLOMATIC RESULTS OF “-2” or “-3”: After a diplomatic result of “-2” for Vichy France, Vichy France becomes an Allied associated minor country, and after a diplomatic result of “-3” for Vichy France, Vichy France becomes an Allied minor ally. In both cases, all Vichy colonies become Free French, along with the forces in them, and Britain receives the prorated BRPs for Vichy France and the Free French colonies. All Vichy French units which survive the change in sides (85.5) become either British associated minor or minor allied units and, if eliminated, may only be rebuilt in any Allied-controlled hex in continental France.