83. CONQUEST OF MINOR COUNTRIES
83.2 EFFECTS OF CONQUEST
83.3 MINOR COUNTRY BRPs
83.5 COOPERATIVE CONQUESTS
83.6 TRANSFERRING CONTROL OF MINOR COUNTRIES
83.11 CONQUEST BY CONTROL OF CAPITAL: Minor countries are conquered if their capital(s) are under enemy, including partisan, control at the end of the attacker's combat phase (EXCEPTIONS: Minor countries without capitals - 83.12; Minor countries which switch sides - 85.53; Australia and India - 71.5, 72.5). The minor country does not get one turn to try to recapture its capital(s) or other key cities. The construction of a partisan in an unoccupied minor country capital does not result in the immediate conquest of a minor country, because this occurs in the unit construction phase, which is after the combat phase.
83.12 MINOR COUNTRIES WITHOUT CAPITALS: The following areas are conquered when the listed cities or hexes are controlled:
A. EASTERN POLAND: Vilna, Brest-Litovsk and Lvov.
B. BALTIC STATES: Riga, Parnu and Tallinn. If the Pact Line runs through the Baltic States then Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia are considered to be separate countries worth five BRPs each, and are conquered as follows: Lithuania: control of all four Lithuanian hexes; Latvia: control of Riga; Estonia: control of Tallinn and Parnu.
In classic A World at War, all three Baltic States are on the Russian side of the Pact Line and Riga, Parnu and Tallinn must all be controlled in order to conquer the Baltic States.
C. ARABIA: Kaf and Jauf.
D. BESSARABIA: All fives hexes in Bessarabia.
E. FINNISH BORDER HEXES: All three Finnish border hexes.
F. LUXEMBOURG: Luxembourg's single hex.
G. HONG KONG: Hong Kong's single hex.
H. BHUTAN: Bhutan's single hex.
I. NEPAL: All three hexes in Nepal.
83.13 SPANISH CAPITALS: For the purpose of determining conquest only, Madrid and Tangier are both considered to be Spanish capitals and both must be controlled by the attacker before Spain is conquered.
83.14 AUSTRALIA AND INDIA: Special rules govern the surrender of Australia (71.5) and India (72.5).
83.2 EFFECTS OF CONQUEST:
83.21 UNITS: All units, wherever located, belonging to a conquered minor country, whether the minor country was neutral, associated with or allied to a major power, are removed from the mapboard at the end of the conquering major power's combat phase. By immediately recapturing the capital of such a minor country, a major power would avert the loss of the minor country's BRPs, but the units of the minor country would still be permanently removed from play.
83.22 HEX CONTROL - INITIAL CONQUEST:
A. If a neutral minor country is conquered in the turn in which it is attacked, all hexes in the minor country pass to the control of the conquering major power at the end of the conquering major power’s player turn, after the redeployment phase, unless occupied by enemy units other than those of the conquered minor country. Normal hex control rules (29.2) govern if a minor country survives the first turn of attack and associates (84.11A) and whenever a minor country’s capital subsequently changes hands (83.23).
B. Minor country islands come under the conquering major power’s control when the minor country is initially conquered, whether on the turn in which the minor country is attacked or later, unless at least one hex of the island is occupied by enemy units other than those of the conquered minor country. This applies to the following islands:
C. Special rules apply to the initial Japanese conquest of the Dutch East Indies (89.23) and the Philippines (89.43).
- Greece: Lesbos (CC30), Chios (DD29), Andros (EE28) and Crete (GG26, GG27, GG28).
- Spain: Balearic Islands (Y15, Y16)
- Baltic States: Saare (F39)
- Sweden: Gotland (H36)
83.22 HEX CONTROL - NEUTRAL MINOR COUNTRIES: All hexes in a conquered minor country pass to the control of the conquering major power at the end of the conquering major power's player turn, after the redeployment phase, subject to the following:
A. This rule applies only to the initial conquest of neutral minor countries. Normal hex control rules (29.2) govern whenever a minor country's capital subsequently changes hands.
B. Greek, Swedish, Baltic (Saare - F39) and Spanish islands come under the conqueror's control along with their controlling minor countries.
C. Hexes containing enemy units other than those of the conquered minor country remain under enemy control.
D. In the Pacific theater, island groups containing enemy units do not pass to the conqueror (29.71).
E. Special rules apply to the initial Japanese conquest of the Dutch East Indies (89.23) and the Philippines (89.43).
83.23 HEX CONTROL - OTHER MINOR COUNTRIES: Hex control of conquered minor countries, colonies, associated minor countries and active minor allies is unaffected by the capture of the minor country's capital. Hex control must be established normally (29.2).
83.3 MINOR COUNTRY BRPs:
83.31 ONE TURN TO RECAPTURE:
A: A major power which controls a minor country’s capital or key cities receives the conquered minor country’s BRP value as printed on the mapboard during each YSS, and receives the prorated BRPs for the minor country during its next turn unless the conquest occurred in a winter turn (35.62) (EXCEPTION: Control of Madrid determines who receives the BRPs for Spain, even though control of both Madrid and Tangier is required to conquer Spain).
B. If a major power has received the BRPs for a minor country and an opponent gains control of the capital or key cities in the minor country, the previously controlling major power must reestablish control of the capital of, or one key city in, the minor country by the end of the combat phase of its next player turn or lose the prorated BRPs for the minor country. Similarly, the opponent gains the prorated BRPs for the minor country at the start of its next player turn if it retains control of the capital of, or all the key cities in, the minor country.
EXAMPLE: Germany controls Belgium. In the Summer 1944 Allied player turn, the U.S. captures Brussels. In the Axis Fall 1944 player turn, Germany recaptures Brussels. There is no BRP change for control of Belgium, because Germany recaptured Brussels immediately. If the German counterattack had failed, then Germany would lose the prorated BRPs for Belgium at the end of its Fall 1944 combat phase and the U.S. would gain the prorated value of Belgium at the start of its Fall 1944 player turn.
83.32 WINTER PLAYER TURNS: If an Axis major power loses control of the capital or key cities of a conquered minor country during the Allied winter player turn, the Axis major power receives the BRPs for the minor country in the following YSS (35.64) and would lose the prorated BRPs for the minor country at the end of the combat phase of its spring player turn if it failed to recapture the capital of or one key city in the minor country. The Allied major power which gained control of the minor country would not include the BRPs for the minor country in its YSS, but would add the BRPs for the minor country in its spring player turn if it retained control of it. This does not entitle the Axis major power to DPs for the minor country capital; DPs in a YSS are based solely on control at the end of the year (49.152).
EXAMPLE: Germany conquers Belgium in Winter 1939. France occupies Brussels during the Allied Winter 1939 player turn. Germany receives 15 BRPs for Belgium in the 1940 YSS, because it has one turn to recapture Brussels. If Germany fails to recapture Brussels in its Spring 1940 player turn, it would lose the 15 BRPs for Belgium and France would gain the 15 BRPs for Belgium in its Spring 1940 player turn.
83.33 COLONIAL BRPs: BRP gains and losses for colonies are handled in the same manner as for other minor countries:
A. LOSSES: If a major power loses a European or Pacific colony, the prorated BRPs for the colony are deducted from its BRP total at the end of the combat phase of the first turn in which it fails to recapture the capital of the colony.
B. GAINS: If a major power gains control of a colony originally controlled by another major power and the originally controlling major power fails to recapture the colony's capital in its next player turn, the conquering major power receives the prorated BRPs in its next turn and the full BRP value of the colony during each subsequent YSS in which it retains control of it. These BRPs are lost if an enemy major power gains control of the colony's capital and the owning major power fails to regain control of the colony's capital by the end of its next combat phase (83.31).
EXAMPLE: In Winter 1939, Italy conquers Tunisia, and France fails to recapture it. France loses one prorated BRP in Winter 1939 and does not receive five BRPs for Tunisia in the 1940 YSS.
83.41 CONQUERED MINOR COUNTRIES: For the purposes of conquest, hex control and BRPs, colonies are considered to be minor countries which have been conquered prior to the start of the game. A major power conquers a colony and acquires its prorated BRPs in the next turn and its full BRPs in the next YSS by capturing the colony's capital and retaining control of it. Hong Kong and Singapore are conquered when they are occupied.
83.42 HEX CONTROL: Normal hex control rules govern when a colony's capital changes hands, as the initial conquest is considered to have already taken place.
83.43 BRPs: Britain, France, Russia, Italy and Japan receive BRPs for their colonies at the start of each scenario in which they participate as an unconquered major power. These BRPs are not included in their BRP bases (EXCEPTION: Japanese colonies, which are key economic areas).
83.44 COLONIES: The colonies in both theaters are set out below, with their BRP values. Colonial capitals are in parentheses.
83.441 BRITISH COLONIES:
A. EUROPE: Egypt (Cairo): 5 BRPs; Iraq (Baghdad): 0 BRPs; Kuwait (Al Kuwait) 0 BRPs; Palestine (Jerusalem): 5 BRPs; Transjordan (Amman) 0 BRPs.
B. ASIA: Burma, (Rangoon): 10 BRPs; Calcutta: 5 BRPs; Dacca: 5 BRPs; Hong Kong: 5 BRPs; Malaya (Kuala Lumpur): 10 BRPs; Sarawak (Kuching): 0 BRPs; Singapore: 5 BRPs.
83.442 DUTCH COLONIES: Borneo (Balikpapan): 10 BRPs; Java (Batavia): 10 BRPs; Sumatra (Palembang): 10 BRPs.
83.443 FRENCH COLONIES:
A. EUROPE: Algeria (Algiers): 5 BRPs; Lebanon-Syria (Damascus): 5 BRPs; Morocco (Rabat): 5 BRPs; Tunisia (Tunis): 5 BRPs.
B. ASIA: French Indochina (Saigon): 10 BRPs.
83.444 ITALIAN COLONIES: Albania (Tirane): 5 BRPs; Ethiopia (off-map): 0 BRPs; Libya (Tripoli): 5 BRPs.
83.445 JAPANESE COLONIES: Formosa (Taipei): 5 BRPs; Korea (Seoul): 10 BRPs; Manchuria (Harbin and Mukden): 20 BRPs. All Japanese colonies are considered to be Japanese key economic areas (38.36).
83.446 RUSSIAN COLONIES:
A. EUROPE: Ukraine (Kiev): 10 BRPs.
B. ASIA: Mongolia (Ulan Bator) and Tannu Tuva (Kyzyl): 0 BRPs.
83.447 SPANISH COLONIES: Spanish Morocco (Tangier): 0 BRPs.
Spanish Morocco is considered to be part of Spain when first placing Spanish units on the mapboard.
83.5 COOPERATIVE CONQUESTS:
83.51 SENIOR ALLIANCE PARTNER BENEFITS: Whenever two or more major power alliance partners participate in the conquest or reconquest of a major power, key economic area, minor country or colony, any BRPs and hexes derived from that action go to the senior alliance partner, as follows:
A. EUROPEAN AXIS: Germany.
B. WESTERN ALLIES: The United States, Britain and France, in that order.
83.52 PARTICIPATION IN A CONQUEST: A junior alliance partner is excluded from the benefits of a conquest if, in the turn of conquest, a more senior alliance partner participated in a cooperative conquest by expending any BRPs for offensive operations to conquer the territory in question or by taking part in an attrition against the forces of a conquered minor country.
83.53 QUALIFYING EXPENDITURES: Any direct expenditure of BRPs in the turn of conquest is sufficient to give the senior alliance partner the benefits of a conquest.
83.54 NON-QUALIFYING EXPENDITURES: The following BRP expenditures are not sufficient to give the senior alliance partner the benefits of a conquest:
A. Counterairing enemy air units which otherwise might provide air cover for enemy naval units that might have attempted naval interception of sea supply lines.
B. Attacking enemy units that are not inside the conquered area but which are potentially in range to attempt a recapture of the capital during the enemy's next turn.
C. Granting BRPs to the attacking ally.
83.6 TRANSFERRING CONTROL OF MINOR COUNTRIES:
83.61 A major power which conquers an area may not transfer the BRP production of the area to an ally, nor may it transfer control of any objectives or any other hexes in that area to an ally. Such changes may only occur as a result of a reconquest.
EXAMPLE: Italy may allow German units to enter Albanian hexes, but those hexes and Albania remain under Italian control. If the Allies conquered Albania and the Axis jointly reconquered it, Germany could control Albania.
EXAMPLE: Italy, acting on its own, conquers Yugoslavia. A German unit later enters Belgrade. Italy retains the Yugoslavian BRPs and Belgrade remains an Italian-controlled objective.
EXAMPLE: Italy controls Belgrade and received the BRPs for Yugoslavia. Partisans capture Belgrade, and German units immediately eliminate them. Italy would not lose the prorated BRPs for Yugoslavia. If neither Germany nor Italy immediately freed Belgrade, Italy would lose the prorated BRPs for Yugoslavia. Italy would regain the prorated BRPs for Yugoslavia in the turn after the partisans are removed from Belgrade. Germany could not gain control of Belgrade, even if it advanced into it after eliminating the partisans.
83.71 CROATIAN UNITS: An Axis conquest of Yugoslavia allows the Axis to build and employ Croatian units, as follows:
A. FORCES: Four Croatian 1-3 infantry units, increased or decreased by Yugoslavia's diplomatic alignment at the end of Gathering Storm (Gathering Storm
transition rule 7.31).
B. CONSTRUCTION: Croatian units are initially unbuilt. The Axis may build one Croatian 1-3 infantry unit each turn, at no BRP cost, in any Axis-controlled,
supplied hex in Yugoslavia which is not in an enemy ZoC (27.44).
C. GEOGRAPHICAL RESTRICTIONS: Croatian units may enter any hex in Yugoslavia and in the territory of any conquered or enemy Balkan minor
country. Croatian units may not enter the territory of a Balkan minor country which is part of the Axis.
83.72 DIPLOMATIC EFFECT: Control of Belgrade is worth one diplomatic point to the Axis. This accrues to:
A. GERMANY: If Germany participated in the conquest of Yugoslavia (83.5).
B. ITALY: If Italy conquered Yugoslavia without German assistance.