85. MINOR ALLIES
85.2 EUROPEAN MINOR ALLIES
85.3 ACTIVATION OF EUROPEAN MINOR ALLIES
85.4 EFFECTS OF ACTIVATION
85.5 SURRENDER AND SWITCHING SIDES
85.6 PACIFIC MINOR ALLIES
85.11 MECHANISMS: A minor country may become allied with a major power in two ways. The first applies only in Europe, and the second applies only in the Pacific:
A. DIPLOMACY (Europe only): After a diplomatic result of "10" (Axis) or "-3" (Western Allies, Russia).
B. TRIGGERING EVENTS (Pacific only): In the Pacific theater, certain minor countries ally with major powers when specified events occur.
85.2 EUROPEAN MINOR ALLIES:
85.21 POTENTIAL EUROPEAN MINOR ALLIES: Major powers may acquire European minor allies as follows:
85.211 GERMANY: Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Norway, Rumania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, the Ukraine, Vichy France and Yugoslavia.
85.212 ITALY: None.
85.213 WESTERN ALLIES: Belgium, Bulgaria, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Norway, Rumania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Vichy France and Yugoslavia.
85.214 RUSSIA: Bulgaria, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Rumania, Sweden, Turkey and Yugoslavia.
85.215 MINOR COUNTRIES SWITCHING SIDES: After any diplomatic result favorable to one alliance faction, including activation as a minor ally, a minor country may later switch sides if an enemy alliance faction obtains the required diplomatic result (85.51B).
85.216 LIST EXHAUSTIVE: European minor countries other than those listed in 85.211 - 85.214 may never activate as minor allies of a major power.
85.3 ACTIVATION OF EUROPEAN MINOR ALLIES:
85.31 ACTIVATION DURING DIPLOMATIC PHASE: European minor countries activate as minor allies during the diplomatic phase in which the diplomatic die roll which activates them is made.
85.32 BRPs ADDED ON ACTIVATION: The prorated BRPs for European minor allies are added to the activating major power's BRP total when the minor ally activates, unless it has already received the BRPs because of association or a previous diplomatic result.
85.33 DIPLOMATIC EFFECTS OF ACTIVATION: The diplomatic effects of minor ally activation do not take effect until after the diplomatic phase in which the diplomatic die roll for the minor ally is made.
85.34 IMPEDIMENTS TO ACTIVATION: A European minor country which is at war with a major power may be activated as a minor ally only if the activating major power:
A. Is already at war with the major power which is at war with the minor country; or
B. Declares war on the major power which is at war with the minor country at the first opportunity.
85.341 IF CONDITIONS NOT MET: If a major power fails to meet the conditions set out in 85.34, the activation of the minor country as a minor ally is negated. A major power may select a lesser diplomatic result during the diplomatic phase if it anticipates that it will not or cannot make the required declaration of war.
85.4 EFFECTS OF ACTIVATION:
85.41 ACTIVE MINOR ALLIES: If a minor country activates as a minor ally, the following rules apply:
85.42 POLITICAL STATUS: The minor ally is automatically at war with all countries with which its controlling major power is at war.
85.43 FINNISH FORCE LIMITS: The five-factor limit on the number of Axis factors permitted in and which may trace supply through Finland remains. Finnish and Swedish units do not count against this limit (82.322).
85.44 HEX CONTROL: The controlling major power controls all hexes controlled by the minor ally, and is deemed to have controlled such hexes from the start of the player turn in which activation occurred. In order for such hexes to be considered fully supplied for units other than those of the minor ally, supply must be traced into the minor ally.
A. INITIAL PLACEMENT OF UNITS: When a minor country activates as a minor ally, its units are placed on any supplied, controlled hex in their home country, unless the units are already on the board. If ground units belonging to an opposing alliance faction are in the minor country's capital following a previous diplomatic result, those ground units are placed on a hex of the owning major power's choosing adjacent to the minor
country's capital, after which the minor country's forces are deployed.
B. STACKING: The units of a major power, its major power allies, its minor allies and its associated minor countries may stack together.
C. MOVEMENT: The minor ally's units are moved by the controlling major power. The controlling major power and the minor
ally move in unison.
D. COMBAT: Minor ally units are considered to be those of the controlling major power for the purpose of offensive operations.
E. REDEPLOYMENT: Minor ally units may be redeployed by the controlling major power.
85.46 GEOGRAPHICAL RESTRICTIONS: Minor ally units may enter any hexes in their home country, as well as the following areas:
A. BALKAN MINOR ALLIES:
B. BELGIUM: The western front.
- BULGARIA: Albania, Greece and European Turkey, as well as the territory of any conquered or enemy Balkan minor country. Bulgarian units may not enter the territory of a Balkan minor country which is part of the same alliance.
- HUNGARY: The Baltic States, Poland, including eastern Poland, Russia, Albania, Greece and European Turkey, as well as the territory of any conquered or enemy Balkan minor country. Hungarian units may not enter the territory of a Balkan minor country which is part of the same alliance and may not enter Bessarabia unless Rumania has been conquered or attacked by the major power alliance to which Hungary is allied.
- RUMANIA: The Baltic States, Poland, including eastern Poland, Russia, Albania, Greece and European Turkey, as well as the territory of any conquered or enemy Balkan minor country. Rumanian units may not enter the territory of a Balkan minor country which is part of the same alliance. Rumanian naval units are limited to the Black Sea and its ports.
- YUGOSLAVIA: Albania, Greece and European Turkey, as well as the territory of any conquered or enemy Balkan minor country. Yugoslav units may not enter the territory of a Balkan minor country which is part of the same alliance.
C. GREECE: The Mediterranean front, other than French North Africa and Spain.
D. SCANDINAVIAN MINOR ALLIES (FINLAND, SWEDEN, NORWAY): Finnish, Swedish and Norwegian minor ally units are restricted to Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Russian hexes within three hexes by land of the Finnish border. Scandinavian ground and air units may be sea transported or NRed through the Norwegian North Sea coastal hexes and the Baltic Sea.
E. SPAIN: The Mediterranean and eastern fronts. Spanish units may sea invade, sea transport , NR or SR through the western front to the Mediterranean and eastern fronts.
F. TURKEY: The Mediterranean front, Russia and Bessarabia.
G. UKRAINE: The Ukraine.
H. VICHY FRANCE: No restrictions.
I. VLASOV UNITS: Vlasov units may be created after a successful Russian Occupation Policies production result (42.26D). Vlasov units are treated as German minor ally units and may be constructed in any Axis-controlled, fully supplied city in Russia or Poland and may only operate in those countries (44.32).
85.461 Air and naval units must base in accordance with the above restrictions (EXCEPTION: Damaged minor country cruisers may be repaired in their major power ally's shipyards - 27.7266C), but may operate freely from their bases (EXCEPTIONS: Rumanian naval units may operate only in the Black Sea; Swedish, Spanish, Turkish and Vichy naval units may not raid). Thus Spanish fleets based in northern Spain and Turkish fleets based in Gibraltar could both operate in the Atlantic. Ground units are prohibited from redeploying through restricted areas (EXCEPTION: Spanish and Vichy French volunteers - 85.46E, H). Air units may redeploy over restricted areas provided they do not touch down in such areas.
85.462 Minor allied ground units may attack enemy units adjacent to their restricted area, but may not advance out of their restricted area after combat.
85.47 FORCE POOLS: When a minor country activates as a minor ally, all its ground and air units, including those eliminated prior to activation, are added to the major power ally's force pool. Naval units which are on the board remain in play. Naval units which have been eliminated may not be rebuilt.
85.48 UNIT CONSTRUCTION: Subject to force pool limits, minor ally units must be rebuilt in a controlled, supplied hex in the minor country which is not in an enemy ZoC (27.44), as follows:
A. EUROPEAN MINOR ALLIES: A single one- or two-factor infantry unit at no BRP cost. Each European minor ally may construct only one infantry unit each turn.
B. COMMUNIST CHINA: Two infantry factors (one 2-2 or two 1-2 infantry units), at no BRP cost.
85.482 ARMOR AND AIR: No more than one armor unit and one AAF each turn. The construction of armor and air units must be paid for by the controlling major power and counts against that major power's unit construction limit. Minor country armor and air units eliminated prior to activation may be constructed by the controlling major power once the minor country has activated.
85.483 NAVAL UNITS: Minor ally naval units may not be constructed. Minor ally naval units may be repaired in a shipyard controlled by their alliance faction.
85.49 BRPs: The controlling major power receives the prorated BRPs for the minor ally at the start of its player turn in which the minor ally activates, unless it has already received the minor ally's BRPs in that year, and receives the BRPs for the minor country in each subsequent YSS unless the minor ally is conquered or otherwise neutralized.
85.491 RUMANIA: The BRP value of Rumania is reduced by five BRPs if Bessarabia has been occupied by Russia (66.32).
85.492 FINLAND: The BRP value of Finland is reduced by five BRPs if the Finnish border hexes have been occupied by Russia (67.32).
85.493 VICHY FRANCE: The BRP value of Vichy France (77.21) is reduced by five BRPs for each Vichy colony which becomes Free French or is conquered by the Allies.
85.5 SURRENDER AND SWITCHING SIDES:
85.51 DIPLOMATIC RESULT REQUIRED:
A. SURRENDER: Associated minor countries and minor allies surrender on a diplomatic result of "5-6", "7" or "8" (negating Western Allied or Russian association or alliance) or "1-2", "0" or "-1" (negating Axis association or alliance), unless a lesser result is chosen.
B. SWITCHING SIDES: Associated minor countries and minor allies switch sides on a diplomatic result of "9" or "10" (negating Western Allied or Russian association or alliance) or "-2" or "-3" (negating Axis association or alliance), unless a lesser result is chosen.
85.52 EFFECTS OF SURRENDER: If a minor country surrenders, the effects set out below are implemented when surrender occurs, in the indicated sequence:
A. UNITS: All the surrendering minor country's units are immediately and permanently removed from play.
B. HEXES: Once all the surrendering minor country's units are removed from play:
C. BRPs: Once control of the surrendering minor country's hexes is resolved, the prorated BRPs for the minor country are retained or acquired by the alliance faction which controls the surrendering minor country's capital.
- Occupied hexes in the surrendering minor country remain under or pass to the control of the alliance faction which controls the units occupying the hexes. Partisans are ignored when making this determination.
- Vacant and partisan-controlled hexes remain under the control of the major power to which the minor country was previously allied or associated, except after a new diplomatic result of “-1” or “8”, in which case the hexes pass to the control of the opposing alliance faction benefiting from the surrender result.
D. SUPPLY OF UNITS CAUGHT IN A MINOR COUNTRY SURRENDER: All units of the major power to which the minor country was previously allied or associated and that major power's alliance partners are considered to be in at least partial supply during their owner's first player turn following the minor country's surrender.
85.53 EFFECTS OF SWITCHING SIDES: If a minor country switches sides, it becomes an associated minor country or minor ally of the alliance faction which placed the greatest number of DPs in it (a die roll if tied). The following adjustments are then made:
A. UNITS: All minor country units which are unbuilt or stacked with enemy units are permanently eliminated. Minor country units on the mapboard which are not stacked with enemy units remain in play and are immediately added to the force pool of the new controlling major power. If the new controlling major power does not control the minor country's capital at the end of its next combat phase, all the units belonging to the minor country are permanently eliminated.
B. HEXES: All hexes in the minor country not occupied by enemy units come under control of the new controlling major power. The control of hexes occupied by enemy units does not change. These enemy units are considered to be in at least partial supply during their owner's first player turn following the diplomatic result.
C. BRPs: Once control of the minor country's hexes is resolved, the prorated BRPs for the minor country are retained or acquired by the alliance faction which controls the minor country's capital.
85.6 PACIFIC MINOR ALLIES:
85.61 COMMUNIST CHINA: Communist China becomes a Russian minor ally immediately following the outbreak of war between Japan and Russia. No other Pacific theater minor countries may activate as minor allies. Australia and India are Commonwealth countries (see rules 71 and 72).
85.62 STATUS PRIOR TO ACTIVATION: Prior to activation, Communist China is independently at war with Japan until the outbreak of war between Russia and Japan. Russian units may not enter hexes controlled by Communist China until Russia is at war with Japan.
85.63 GEOGRAPHICAL RESTRICTIONS: Communist Chinese units are restricted to China, and therefore may not enter Manchuria or Hong Kong. Communist Chinese units may not enter Nationalist Chinese-controlled hexes unless the Chinese resistance level is +2 or greater.