The diplomatic tables are set out below. For the detailed rules relating to diplomacy, see rule 49.
49.51 RESULTS: Once all diplomatic die rolls are made for the targets announced for a particular diplomatic phase, the diplomatic results are implemented as set out in the applicable diplomatic table.
A. When a minor country is economically penetrated by or grants hex control to the European Axis, associates with the European Axis, or activates as a European Axis minor ally, Germany benefits.
B. When a minor country is economically penetrated by or grants hex control to the Western Allies, associates with the Western Allies, or activates as a Western Allied minor ally, the senior alliance partner benefits unless a junior alliance partner is already benefiting from a diplomatic result for that minor country (EXCEPTION: Britain always benefits from a Western Allied diplomatic result for Vichy France - 77.95).
C. When Western Allied and Russian DPs are combined in a minor country and a pro-Allied result occurs, the alliance faction which placed the greater number of DPs in the target receives the benefit. Ties are resolved by agreement or a die roll.
49.433 WESTERN ALLIED AND RUSSIAN RESULTS: The Western Allies may not select a minor country as a diplomatic target if it is allied to or associated with Russia or if a diplomatic result of "-1" or "0" favoring Russia is in effect for that minor country. Similarly, Russia may not select a minor country as a diplomatic target if it is allied to or associated with the Western Allies or if a diplomatic result of "-1" or "0" favoring the Western Allies is in effect for that minor country. Pro-Allied modifiers for hex control (-1), association (-2) and alliance (-3) apply if the Axis name the minor country as a diplomatic target.
49.52 PERMANENT RESULTS: A "*" beside a diplomatic result means the result is permanent and the target may not again be selected for a diplomatic die roll.
49.53 LESSER RESULTS: An alliance faction which achieves a favorable diplomatic result (i.e., a result on its side of a "3-4" "continues current policies" result) may choose to implement any lesser result, either to avoid a "*" result or to achieve a particular lower-ranked but, in the circumstances, more desired result. This rule may be invoked by whichever player achieved the favorable diplomatic result, regardless of which side selected the diplomatic target and made the diplomatic die roll. The selection of a lesser result must be made at the time the diplomatic roll is made, before any subsequent rolls.
If a diplomatic result occurs which is less favorable than a prior result for the same target, the effects of the previous result are negated unless the new result specifies otherwise.
If a major power received BRPs from a prior result, it would immediately deduct them if the new result did not award the BRPs.
If a prior result allowed a major power to place units in a minor country, but the new result does not, the units would have to be removed by the end of the major power's next redeployment phase or be eliminated.
General modifiers are printed in normal type and apply to all minor countries as listed. Balkan modifiers apply to the four Balkan countries (Bulgaria, Hungary, Rumania (including Bessarabia) and Yugoslavia). Additional modifiers are printed in italics and are unique to the country concerned.
Modifier for Unbuilt Units:
The modifier for unbuilt units favors the opponent of the alliance faction with which the minor country is allied, associated or otherwise aligned. Vichy France, Spain while a "5-6" diplomatic result allows it to send volunteers to the eastern front, and Finland, Poland and Rumania after border wars, including a German-Polish border war over Danzig and the Polish Corridor, are considered to be aligned with the Axis, except after a subsequent "0" or lower diplomatic result. Otherwise the modifier for unbuilt units favors the opponent of the alliance faction which selected the minor country for a diplomatic die roll.
Modifier for Friendly and Enemy Units:
Units are “friendly” if they belong to a member of a friendly alliance faction; units are “enemy” if they belong to a member of an enemy alliance faction. Only major power, minor ally and associated minor country units are counted; partisans are not.
49.4266 FAILED WESTERN ALLIED INVASION OF FRANCE: If a Western Allied seaborne invasion of a conquered France is repulsed, or if the Axis succeed in recapturing all French hexes captured by such an invasion, a +1 pro-Axis diplomatic modifier applies to all subsequent diplomatic die rolls by either side for all diplomatic targets for the remainder of the game. These modifiers are not negated by a subsequent successful Western Allied invasion, although a second failed invasion of France triggers a second +1 additional modifier.
Initial Diplomatic Status:
Unless otherwise specified, all minor countries begin the game with a "3-4" result in effect.
General results are printed in normal type and apply to all minor countries as listed. Additional results are printed in italics and either supplement or replace the general results, as indicated.
A major power may not receive more BRPs from a minor country than the BRP value of the minor country.
Hex Control and Foreign Units:
When a diplomatic result of "8" or "-1" permits units to enter a neutral minor country, no more than ten foreign naval/ground/air factors may be in or be supplied through that minor country at any given time (EXCEPTION: The limit for Axis units in Finland is five factors - ).
Axis and Allied Units:
Axis units are defined as all Axis major power, minor allied and associated minor country units. Allied units are similarly defined. Thus, minor ally and associated minor country units in their own country modify future diplomatic die rolls for that minor country.
Effects of Aggression:
If a major power declares war on a neutral minor country, thereby causing that minor country to associate with a member of an opposing alliance faction, the aggressor major power may not again select that minor country as a target for a diplomatic die roll. Once the capital of a minor country comes under the control of enemy forces, that minor country is conquered and any diplomatic result for that minor country no longer applies. Conquered minor countries may not be named as diplomatic targets.
Basic Alignments: Each minor country has a basic national modifier which reflects its intrinsic support of the Axis or Allied cause. The higher the number, the more pro-Axis the country:
Italy and France:
There are no diplomatic die rolls for Italy and France. DPs placed in Italy and France modify the Italian (56.31) and French (58.21E) surrender levels, respectively.